We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nairobi Safari Club
Ranked #36 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Rooms are large with separate bed & sitting areas. The rooms are dated, with furniture that is mismatched, old & not too comfortable.....however, as I wasn't expecting a high class property was fine. Room had a large safe and a hairdryer. Breakfast offered a good selection of food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your accommodation experience at the Nairobi Safari Club. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. In regards to the feel and look of the furniture in the suites, your observations have been forwarded to the management team. It is our hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    97
    72
    30
    16
See reviews for
34
67
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is seriously outdated. The carpets and the bathrooms, the linens, all old and dingy. I didn't particularly feel like this hotel was in a say place either. There is a metal detector at the doors to get in and one day 3 men entered the hotel and the staff seemed alarmed looking for them quickly and it made both my husband and I nervous. We were even sent with a chaperone to go to an ATM nearby. The buffet was pretty poor and the pizza was so awful. The fact that they called that pizza was unreal. I would recommend to stay somewhere else. This hotel needs a lot of work both inside and out. I will be staying elsewhere when I return next year.

Room Tip: there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Mary,
Your observation about the hotel in particular: the carpets, bathroom, linen, pizza and security concerns have been duly noted, and forwarded to the management team. Thank you for taking the time to be honest about your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sandy,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night and immediately had to leave. The service at the front desk was slow and archaic, the room was something out of the 1970's and it was dark and smelled like second hand smoke.

They say every room is a suite, but that just ends up meaning they shove two single beds into the living area in a very strange way and it is very uncomfortable. Beds were literally hard as sleeping on a piece of wood and same with the sofas in room. The photos online are misleading. Period.

We would NEVER stay here again and would never recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience at the hotel was. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the Front Office and housekeeping departments respectively. We hope this experience did not ruin your safari in Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel prior to a safari holiday in kenya. We arrived early morning after a tiring overnight flight. This hotel was lovely, our room was available immediately allowing us to get a few hours sleep. We were very impressed, spotless and very comfortable.The restaurant was excellent, we were on bed and breakfast basis but decided to have our evening meal in hotel.The food was really good at a reasonable cost and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all suite hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irene0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
It is always our joy when we meet our clients satisfaction, We will pass on your positive comments to the Restaurant, as well as the Housekeeping Departments, and the other members of staff. We do hope that you will not hesitate to stay with us should you be visiting the city of Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a large property that made me feel like I was at Disney World. It is one of those places that is high-end and tries to provide everything you need but feels a little sterile. You don't ever need to leave - but that sort of defeats the purpose of traveling!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. Your observation has bee noted, and has been forwarded to the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

After a long flight and a bustling drive to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our suite. The once elegant furniture was a bit shabby, but still very nice. Our daughter, who paid for a single supplement, even had a small balcony off her living area. Despite our fatigue, we went out into the city and visited nearby City Market (high-pressure sales, but the only shopping time we had on the tour other than a few gift shop pit stops). We walked around the University of Nairobi, and the ultra-chic Norfolk Hotel. We bought some beers at a nearby market and enjoyed them on the pool deck at sunset. The pool area is gorgeous and a swim felt wonderful after the long journey. We had dinner in the main restaurant. The service was painfully slow, we waited an hour after ordering for our meal to come. However, the Indian-style food was excellent, probably the best food we had on the trip. Others in our group did not experience the slow service. The buffet breakfast in the morning was also quite nice.

Overall the facilities are very nice and comfortable, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter and have less diesel fumes. Some rooms have balconies, but most do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We apologize for the slow service you experienced, your concerns about the appearance of the furniture has been forwarded to the management team. Thank you for complementing our breakfast buffet, we always believe that the best way our guests can have a great day, is by having a good breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here one night before heading to Safari. Booked by tour operator and was dissapointed. Arrived late at night and left early in the orning but with a rash all over our bodies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We apologize for the rash, and hope this did not ruin your safari. Your complaint has been forwarded to the Housekeeping Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#74 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Property: Nairobi Safari Club
Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing