We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family outing with a touch of Education” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Ranked #20 of 112 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice family outing with a touch of Education”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its a Nice place to visit , if you love history . informative Guides that you can hire so cheaply . Nice old days locomotives which you wont find in service today, to take your pic with. We went in with one of our visiting friends and liked being there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Asim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    56
    29
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well worth visiting - those visionary no limits Victorians - why not build a railway rising 5000 feet thru Lion infested lands

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Funny and nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This museum is one of place in Nairoby which you have to see! It is interesting for people who are interesting for raiways history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RELI - railway in swahili”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Railway museum with my uncle, sister and two friends.
I found it interesting learning about the history, former presidents in East-Africa and working conditions for those who where building the railway line.

We went inside the old trains, and took pictures of the old equiments, chairs and so on.
For those who like learning about history and/or like trains this is the place for you!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peninah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful half day trip for kids in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hidden away at the edge of Nairobi city centre, the railway museum is a must for anyone with kids for a few hours. The museum is a little on the tired side but the trains themselves are a great source of adventure and curiosity for the kids. bring your own snacks and drinks but be prepared to get up and down and into and out of the trains... Great fun

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing