We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bomas of Kenya

Bomas of Kenya
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Half-Day Cultural Tour of Bomas of Kenya in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each boma (homestead) in this cultural village was built using traditional specifications of myriad Kenyan tribes; through architecture, crafts, music and dance this village serves to preserve Kenyan culture.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
657 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went to Bomas of Kenya to see and hear the traditional dancing and music. Before the performance we had lunch (pleasant outdoor setting with adequate food) and strolled though the villages on display. There are many, many village compounds from lots of tribes all over Kenya, and we found them fascinating -- although we could have benefited from more information. The performance itself was very enjoyable, with audience members being drawn onto the stage and into the action. The day we attended, the auditorium (which is quite big) was mostly empty, so there was no trouble getting good seats close to the action. I suppose this could be a problem on more crowded occasions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    141
    65
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Colourful Dance of Kenya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

A must for the traveller who likes to enjoy the culture of the place. Wildlife surely is the reason people travel to Kenya but missing the dances would be missing a big part of this cheerful country. And then the 'Acrobat' performing. A must see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is awkward”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The dancers at Bomas of Kenya look as though they don't want to be present. Everyone looked sad. Considering how empty it was and that it only cost about 7.5USD, the abusive pay is probably the issue. The dancers kept messing up and had no energy. The shop there was a bunch of crap. None of it has hand made and it was expensive. I do not recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

it's one of the most enjoyable place around Nairobi. The tour there can be divided into two main attractions: the traditional dances and the tribal villages.
the traditional shows starts at 2:30 on weekdays and 3:30 on weekends. my advice it to start your visit by the shows , Reach bomas 10 minutes before the shows and buy your tickets for 600 KSH (non-resident). during the shows, they offer you a notebook for 200 ksh which describe the different tribal villages and some useful information about the various tribes and houses u r going to during ur visit. so start with the dances , get the book, go around the villages.
there is also a restaurant where u can enjoy a hot meals , snacks and drinks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebrahim-ElCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view...low doors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I enjoyed the view at Bomas of Kenya, with the historical background given by my guides on the lifestyle of the ancient Kenyans from different tribes. Obama's tribe is also represented in one of the settlements built. My observation is all the doors are way too low, and I wonder why they ever built their doors low! Tip: You'd enjoy it best if you go in the evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dare7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomas of Kenya also viewed

 

Been to Bomas of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing