We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Nanyuki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Love giraffes? This is the place for you. So nice to see them face to face. My grandkids loved being able to feed them after they saw them in the wild. Helpful staff too.p

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    769
    278
    57
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Give it 20 minutes, tops.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Yes, you get to feed a giraffe. Yes, that's pretty amazing. Yes, you will have a photo to show your friends. That's about it. Take it up a notch, please. There are the wonderful giraffes, a pretty lame exhibit about giraffes and a gift shop - and sometimes a man making balloon animals in the small garden. It's a unique place and you should go, but don't plan to make a day of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though it sounds cheesy to want to get kissed by a giraffe, you really should do it! The Centre is doing good work with the giraffes and it offers interesting information about the species. And then you get to stand on a raised viewing center and be face to face with these wonderful, gentle creatures. You will be given food pellets that entice the giraffes to eat out of your hand. Just being so close and getting to touch them is worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing attraction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

After an hugely entertaining and informative visit to the Elephant Orphanage in Nairobi, the Giraffe Center was a disappointment. Relatively expensive entrance fee- but the information area was very limited and dated. We could touch the impressive giraffes and there was lots of food "treats" provided for us to feed the giraffes?! Good photo opportunity but overall an underwhelming center. Allow an hour at the most.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank weekender57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was excited when we set off for the giraffe Centre; having heard a lot about it and it was next on our itinerary;after the national park. It was however not quite up to expectations, we paid the entrance fee and went in; expecting at least a walk round the facility, if not a guided tour!
Instead we were directed to a balcony next to an enclosure containing a lone giraffe. As soon as we stepped into the balcony the lady gave each of us a handful of nuts/giraffe food and showed us how to feed it to the giraffe; one at a time. We did that, took pictures, and THAT was it! After spending 2 hours in Nairobi traffic jam to get there; with another 2hrs drive back waiting for us! And a hired cab driver on standby that had cost us 7000ksh(about $90) for the trip. We had paid 1000ksh gate fee, so had invested abt $100 dollars and 4 hrs. sitting in a traffic jam just to feed one giraffe! Fun...yes, but at what price?.....really not worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Touristbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing