We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Giraffe Center and Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Out of Africa Experience: Giraffe Centre and Karen Blixen Museum Tour from...
Ranked #2 of 124 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good cause, but pricey”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

a good centre and a good experience to feed giraffe. But prices have increased again, making them one of the more expensive centres to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,377
    869
    303
    63
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“So that's what a giraffe feels like!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent experience. Their tongues are purple. The ears are bone. The neck feels like a horse. Reasonable cost and a good time. Nice gift store.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely animals and a great place”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely Worth a visit.
The animals are really beautiful and you can get real Close to them. The staff is also very friendly. We went there before lunch, and was some of few visitors at that time. So we got really good service.
You can feed the giraffes With Your mouth. A fun and wet experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“French kissing a long necked girl in a place called Karen, Nairobi”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an excellent part of the conservation effort for the Rothschild Giraffe. The centre has a number of breeding mothers and releases their offspring into the wild eventually. It also has entertaining warthogs. You can stand in a tall house and the giraffes come to see you if they'd like to. You get to feed them. I was encourage to hold some food pellets in my mouth so that the giraffe would come and take it from me. The staff are excellent, highly knowledgeable and informative. We got some great photos of a mother and two week old baby giraffe!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing