We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Giraffe Center and Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Out of Africa Experience: Giraffe Centre and Karen Blixen Museum Tour from...
Ranked #2 of 124 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,375
    869
    303
    63
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL ROTHSCHILD”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited the place a number of times coz l just cnt get enuf of it..........got to feed the girraffes n one of them licked my fingers it was scary at first but with more visits i got used to it......

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with a Giraffe”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Giraffe Center is well worth a visit. While on Safari you can only watch these majestic creatures roam the plains, at the Center you get to stand below them and really feel their heights than climb up a petting stand to feed, photograph and well, maybe even get kissed by one! I did have a giraffe there try to eat my hair scrunch!! Watching children feed them is priceless and the setting is beautiful and peaceful. There are other smaller animals around and some nice gifts in the gift shop. We often take children from our Kenyan school there and students of all ages enjoy it. There is a small educational exhibit that is quiet good too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the giraffes!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited this center on our first day in Nairobi after long plane ride(s). Was a great introduction to Kenya. Yes - we did see more giraffes in the following days - but this was a peaceful, educational setting. Loved the gift shop too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience..”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place to get up close to the Giraffes.

We really enjoyed feeding them at head height with there large tongues, great photo opportunity.

A must if you get the chance to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 77_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing