We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Giraffe Center and Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 125 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Woking
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Giraffe Centre”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited this delightful park today, the day after the election, and had it virtually to ourselves. This meant we had lots of time to hand feed the Giraffes,which is a wonderful experience, and ask questions of the very knowledgeable Guides who are on duty. A baby Giraffe is expected next month. It would be worth ringing in advance to see if Mother and baby are receiving visitors. Tea or coffee in the shade with a toasted ham sandwich makes a perfect snack lunch. There is no full menu.
Don't forget to visit the tortoises too, just to the left of the cafe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WokingNasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,396
    878
    306
    64
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feed the giraffes”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's a small place but well worth the price and time. We were there for a little over an hour and saw it all. We went ourselves so it was a little hard to find as there aren't signs showing the way, but plenty of locals around that gladly point the way, so there was no delay in getting there. You get close enough to the giraffes to feed them by hand at eye level. They keep them close to the feeding station and everyone gets the chance to feed them and get a few pictures. The giraffes are very gental and stayed close the whole time we were there. The children that were there when we were, could easily drop the food pelets on the giraffes long sticky wet tongues. All-in-all it was very fun and when I go back to kenya I'll go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljubljana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As close to a giraffe as possible”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a wonderfull time at Giraffe center in Langata. You can even kiss the giraffe if you wanna to. The entry ticket for foreigner is 1000 shilings, but money well spent especially because it goes to the foundation. So when in Nairobi don't miss the visit of this center.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Giraffe Centre never grows old! I have been here many times with various visitors but i never get bored with it. The opportunity to feed Giraffes is unique, getting faced to face with these magnificent animals is a special experience. Sitting having a cup of tea watching Giraffes eating from the hands of the visitors is a great way to spend a morning!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Get close to a lovely animal”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great experience learning all about the tallest animals and one of The Beautiful 5. A real bonus is getting to feed one a little snack and get a hands on experience with the enormous tongue of these animals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefe1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing