We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
$75*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun feeding Giraffes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good for a quick stop to feed giraffes and wart hogs. Kids will love it. You get a brief talk about the three types of giraffes in Africa and some informative information about conservation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HugoHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    720
    261
    56
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feed the giraffe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was great being up close the giraffes. You can actually feed them and if your brave enough, you put a bit of food between your teeth,, they will take it and you can get a kiss. They're tongues are rough!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Nairobi - unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I never thought I'd hand feed a Giraffe. For me a mesmerising and wonderful experience. Very simple set-up with a small cafe on site.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“UP CLOSE AND TONGUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

How often have you had the opportunity to feed a giraffe and have her wrap her 28 inch tongue around your arm up to your elbow....you can do that here....a breeding farm for the endangered species of giraffe you can stay as long as you like and get to know all the ladies who love to eat out of your hand and they actually make a noise like a cat purring....wonderful experience...I loved every minute of my stay and have some great pictures of Matilda eating from my hands.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long tongues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good sopt for kids, you can feed the giraffe with special food given by the staff, touch a girafe without using a ladder. Good fun

Helpful?
Thank Luculus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing