We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you're going on safari, skip this place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre

African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you're going on safari, skip this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was duly impressed when I visited the giraffe center, but only because I hadn't been on safari yet. If this is the only chance you'll get to see giraffes, by all means go. Feed them. Make out with them (no really, people do it. You'll see ... ) They're beautiful creatures. I also enjoyed the fact that many plants and trees had informative labels spelling out their medicinal uses. There's a lovely hiking trail across the road, too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    771
    278
    57
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Twiga- Giraffes in Swahili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Giraffe Center was difficult to find (for the cab driver who was quite possibly stoned) but worth the wait. You can hand (or mouth) feed giraffes and the volunteers are knowledgeable and friendly. There is also a nature walk that is easily self-led and beautiful. A little pricey but worth it if looking for things to do in Nairobi.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bgilby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Feed a giraffe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got to feed a giraffe here, but if you are going on safari, you will be seeing a lot of giraffes, so it might not be worth your time to visit the center....unless you really want to feed the giraffe, which is cool too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alowery81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Their tongues really are blue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want to see giraffes up close and personal you have to visit the giraffe centre. These lovely animals can be hand fed and some individuals seem to like having their ears tickled or necks scratched

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had barely got through the gate before we were given a handful of feed and coming face to face with a hungry giraffe, and it was amazing! The keepers are very friendly and there is an informative talk on the giraffes which was very interesting. We had a great time!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing