We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely compound-rooms ok and service that tries hard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely compound-rooms ok and service that tries hard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

First hotel every after 15 years of heavy tarvelling where I arrive with a booked room at 21:00 at night only to hear: "Sorry Sir - your room is not ready yet. We still have to send cleaning in and make it up. You can have it in 1 hour. " So just what you need after 8 hours of flight. No sorry, no explanation, no compensation. So I took my luggage and kille 1 hr at my owen cost in the pool bar. Not quite 5 star service. Also as normall check-in time is in afternoon.

For the rest - the compound is lovely, nice surroundings and great golf course. Rooms big and decent though a bit dated which shows in partially luke-warm water in morning, lack of AC, lack of plugs etc. Nothing I would normally fly in for from way abroad (I was there for a conference) but if you are in the vicinity it is a good choice.

Service varies but staff tries there best even if often takes a bit longer and generally is very helpful and comitted (with exception) of the reception experience on arrival.

So for me between 3 and 4 on the Tripadvisor review scale. I take the poor check-in performance as an outayer and therefore go for a 4. In a good hotel I however would have expected some excuses or at least a free drink to kill the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Andry,

I would first and foremost want to thank you for the time you have taken to give us feedback
about your stay here at the Hotel,

With the upcoming renovations, some of your observations will be a thing of the past and am sure that once the project is finished, your experience in the hotel will be worth your visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    100
    52
    16
    18
See reviews for
36
35
7
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights having moved from the Safari Park Hotel which was pretty awful.
The Golf Course is fantastic, the rooms, whilst being a little outdated are fine.
What really really lets the place down is the service. The staff in the main restaurant and poolside bar were all at sea. Whether it is lack of training or just not caring you leave feel cheated.
To add to matters due to the pathetic cashier on checkout my credit card was charged twice and I am still struggling to get a refund.

Room Tip: Play golf there but stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've stayed here 40+ nights over four trips. The hotel is very pretty - looks like an old English hotel (Tudor) even though it was built not very long ago. It has hardwood floors throughout (a little creaky but that's part of the charm). The restaurants are good, with some very good dishes, and there are lots of places to sit and enjoy a drink or dinner and a good book. I'm partial to the "Library" but service can be slow as one waiter may have to cover four locations. Food is reasonably priced, as is most beverages (alcoholic and nonalcoholic). Breakfasts are full and generous.

The gym is dated but not bad. There's a great set of walking paths through the golf course, ranging from 3k to 7k. I'm a big fan.

The rooms are not airconditioned, but they do have fans. Although it can get a bit humid, the nights are generally cool enough that you won't miss the ac with the fan turned up.

Don't expect an active night life. Dead might describe a weekend night. That's not bad if you want to read a book.

You are out a ways from town. From the hotel to the center of town during traffic can be an hour. In non-peak traffic, it's about twenty minutes. To the US Embassy or the UN Compound is about ten minutes, or fifteen minutes in traffic.

I like this place. It's a bit remote, a bit quiet. The service is generally good albeit spotty, and senior staff is very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: I like rooms far from the front desk to make me walk. Some of the distant room numbers are 1100 ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dallas Jack,

Thank you for being our loyal guest and we value your feedback about your experience in the hotel.
The recent road network developments have greatly increased accessibility to the hotel, and we expect new developments in the neighbor hood.

Just to mention, every Wednesday and Friday evenings we will be having a band that will entertain
our resident guests, from where one can enjoy kenyan music and dishes.

Our Front desk provides golf carts that are available to drive (you to or to pick guests from/to rooms far from the main building.

Karibu Tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel is about a 30 minute drive from the airport with no traffic, a 1 hour drive with moderate traffic and a 2 hour drive with traffic. It is a compound with armed guards. There is a golf course, a colonial feel, walking, running and cycling tracks around the golf course, a gym, swimming pool, as well as relaxing areas for drinking or watching the golf course - all of which are well maintained and well serviced. It is also very pretty and breezy (in March). It has an old colonial feel about it, and is a little bit dilapidated, e.g. there was sometimes a little bit of gecko poop but this cannot be avoided – and somehow in keeping with the colonial style. Rooms are large and spacious with views over the gold course. The golf course is lovely, with one of the longest holes in eastern Africa. Samson, caddied for me, he was absolutely superb. He is a lovely, gracious and gentle man, and an excellent golfer. My game went to pieces and I asked him for advice and he noted that I was breaking my wrists – and suddenly my game returned - wonderful. The hotel is lovely, the staff are excellent. The only downside woudl be the lack of other things nearby, and a very western menu - it was difficult to have any E. African food.however, I would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tompel,

We are grateful that you took time to review our hotel having sampled the facilities available at the hotel. Indeed we are very proud to have one of the best golf courses in East Africa and soon we'll have a new Golf House at the 11th tee.

At the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club, we endeavor that every guest enjoys the peaceful secure
environment away from the busy central business district.

Every Wednesday and Friday, we have prepared for our resident guests, great Kenyan bands
that will get you to sample Kenya music and enjoy that very famous "Kenyan Beer".

We look forward to hosting you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I must say. Your service is great and world class.

The breakfast is great and though we had a late check out, the service was super awesome. I totally enjoyed every bit of my stay.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemutai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jemutai,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a "Super Awesome" experience. We do look forward to hosting you many more times.

Karibu Tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Large room with an older, colonial style feel. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Even if you don't golf, you can walk and ride a bike on the trails around the golf course where you can see floral and fauna (and monkeys too!) Off the beaten path and very relaxing experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DustyandRonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dusty,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel,
Windsor Golf hotel & country club is not only a golfers paradise but a home to all.
For sporting lovers we have tennis & squash courts and we also organise bird watching trips in our indigenous forest.
This is a home away from home where all are always welcome to come enjoy the green secure environment in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was at the Windsor again after 10 years in January, 2014. The surroundings are as sylvan, the walk, run or cycling possibility still as attractive, the staff are helpful even if somewhat doleful looking for some reason (!). Maintenance has been very good over the decade. The grand public spaces with their high ceilings and lovely flooring continue to impress. The addition of excellent wi-fi connectivity has added value. Some things have not changed. They still leave only a small bottle of water in your room and no kettle to get yourself a cup of tea or coffee. The ambience for a workshop is great but the pillars in the Country Room detract from the ability to really become a first rate conference facility. The food needs spicing up for the eastern palate!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a more expansive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sananshimla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sanan,
We are glad that you appreciate the look and feel of the our hotel. Among other 5 star services, we have made it a priority to ensure that our guests enjoy 10MB of broadband internet. This is to ensure your connectivity to family, friends and business associates.
Thank you for sparing time to make this review, we take all reviews positively.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#22 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAICO Regency Hotel
#84 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
#31 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Property: Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing