We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #42 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights for a friends wedding. Lovely setting overlooking the golf course. Very elegant lobby and restaurants, big wooden floors. Rooms spacious, big bathrooms.

Lovely warm swimming pool, although this got rather busy at weekends with children. So much room another pool would be an asset.

Lovely breakfast on the patio overlooking the golf course. Swimming watching the monkeys in the trees overlooking the pool.

Substantial grounds and lake. Excellent overall, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We travelled here with 14 other people, all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very British, the architecture and the sorrounding, elegant looby and resturants, wooden floors, big bathrooms...I like the green around, the lakes and the birds..evenings are cool and calm.. if u r in a lesiure trip best for golfers.
An amazingly talanted singer cherished an evening while celebrating one friend s birthday.
Pool is warm but too warm for afternoon.
I wanted to go for a walk by lakeside but it look so deserted and I have to run back chasing by a monkey..but with bicycling or in group I think its perfect for a long run.
Rooms were not so quiet, u can hear people all the time..and the place is bit far for anythng around.
I was expecting to try some traditional kenyan food but couldn't find any

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were housed in the Windsor Park housing complex, which is part of the Windsor Park Hotel and Country Club for the last fifteen days of my contract in Kenya. When we first looked at the accommodation we were extremely impressed, but we subsequently learned that the house we were shown was the "show house" and whilst the one we were allocated was of the same design, that's where the similarity ended! Much of the equipment we had originally seen was not available when we arrived, including gas to cook with, a kettle and toaster amongst other things and it took five days for us to receive everything!
Furnishings were certainly considerably poorer than those we had been shown and we had problems with hot water (I had cold showers for five days), TV reception and other minor problems. We were also accused of having broken a window and a toilet seat, but this was amicably resolved following a meeting with the General Manager. Eating at the hotel is an experience as whilst it promises so much with the setting and the golf course, service is extremely slow and my advice, if you are going to eat there, is to allow at least an hour for your food to be served.
This facility has so much potential and we were told that the intention was that it be of the same standard as a five star hotel. It was also extremely noisy on Saturday nights when weddings were held at the venue, which disturbed our sleep well into the wee hours of the morning. As indicated the surroundings are very picturesque, the golf course is great, which would better suit those on a holiday rather than on business.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoggsNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The feel of the property is very British. Big golf course, and every room has a view of it. Very well built club house, and choices of food and beverage outlets. But that is about it. Service is very poor - you can order your food, and expect it in one hour. It happened to us more than often, and we thus settled for the buffet that they usually have. The place is best for those looking for solace, or perhaps part of a golfing tour, where hotel services are secondary.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in villas, as they are bigger. No AC in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VK2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a waste of a beautiful hotel in a stunning setting ... Stayed 4 nights in a large group, and before long we were all comparing unfavourable notes on the food and the service. We waited over an hour for food twice, once at the casual pool bar, and once in the upmarket Windsor Room, where to add insult to injury, all steaks were tough as old leather, and many were incorrectly cooked.

We had several experiences where multiple waiters (up to three) would stop at our table and try to take our order (which had already been taken). There was clearly a lack of training and "method" to the way things worked. Staff were friendly enough, especially when engaged or complemented, but it seemed that there was inadequate supervision or direction or training.

We also had several experiences where the food served was clearly not fresh, from stale bread rolls, to a cup of tea served in the room with a brown skin on top of it. My wife also had the joy of watching her food handler touching the pancakes he was preparing multiple times with his hands, to check for doneness, to fold them, and to pick them up and serve them.

One little golden gem in the midst of all this - the espresso coffees were outstanding. Every time. And the staff was very proud of their barista skills.

Hopefully management can respond to this kind of feedback, this was clearly not an isolated bad experience. The hotel could be so much more if the poor food and service are addressed ... and I am told that it used to be an all round 5 star place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartDaddySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed in Nairobi four times in last 3 years and this was my first time in Winsor Golf Hotel and Country Club. For golfers, excellent. However, rooms are dated. Swimming pool area very nice with excellent bar/restaurant. I've seen some reviews stating that restaurant is very expensive and I have to disagree with them. Prices are very affordable and food was good. The service overall is not bad, but it could be better. The breakfast is buffete, but with not a lot of choices. There is a nice bike track within the compaund. I stayed only for two night and overall I was satisfied and would come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottoreK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a First class hotel and golf course on the edge of Nairobi, public rooms were excellent the course was a very good test of golf. our room overlooked the 9th & 18th green and was spacious and convenient. The staff were very obliging and the Kenyan caddies were absolute gems and not expensive ,we gave them a good tip to supplement their 600 shilling wage( about £4) The food was good particularly on the golf terrace. The restaurants were fine but a little slow on service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but those on foyer level are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61John6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
938 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safari Park Hotel
#26 of 169 in Nairobi
583 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $212 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing