We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great for golfers, huge establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #28 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great for golfers, huge establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a short trip to Nairobi, first nights stay was at this establishment. It is a very pleasant establishment, huge grounds and golf course with some wonderful views across the grounds. The menu prices are similar to those of a high class UK hotel and the food is pretty good. Having only sampled the lunch menu and the breakfast I can't comment on the main meals. Staff are not so attentive, it can be awkward to get served and they are not the most sociable.
Rooms are all in the same 'olde world' colonial style as the rest of the hotel, very clean and comfortable and quiet. Some nature noise first thing in the morning from the birds.
For a golfer with time on their hands, I would suggest this is an excellent hotel, aside from that it is as good as anywhere to stop over for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreboGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    93
    47
    15
    16
See reviews for
34
35
7
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent and exclusive club & hotel. Absolutely amazing exprience. Great view, very friendly and attentive staff along with fantastic ambience. The Golf course's view is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinoo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have had two successive January golf breaks at the Windsor with my dear wife which speaks for itself but we may be biased as we love Kenya anyway having lived /worked there in the past . I enjoyed the 5* golf layout some memorable scenic holes /rounds and forgettable shots . I loved the course tough those it was but with a friendly caddy lining up my putts and the Sykes monkeys looking on so you do not forget you are inAfrica what more could you ask . The hotelside which is good alround standard unusual by its colonial style but with some great " Jambo " service thrown in ....clean rooms with a big comfy bed and a golf course view ...generous breakfast " al fresco " ....for us the poolside was the 19th with cold Tusker lager and a dip in the pool to cool off ....however we found pool area not so peaceful at weekends so we went off on safari the hotel was very helpful allowed us to keep our room . I can't wait escape the northern winter and land on the first tee again ! I should not be telling you this it was supposed to be a secret .

Room Tip: ...all rooms seem to be the same with same aspect
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My first hotel in kenia. Spacious room, nice poolbar, excellent breakfast, great runningtrack around the golfarea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceciel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our stay here was just great. The rooms are a good size; beds very comfortable; staff are excellent; breakfast is great; good walking trails; sense of safety; nice to be in the country; pool area very friendly to adults and children; lots of little nooks to sit quietly; and we never even got a chance to golf! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here and recommend it heartily. Transport was safely and easily arranged by very competent front staff.

This was my second stay here. The first was when I was travelling alone, however, the experience was also excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms all face out onto the golf course I think. Upper floor rooms are larger I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My first stop in Kenya was the Windsor Golf Hotel and country club. What a grand and exotic hotel and experience. The service was world class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

It takes a member to invite you, but if you can swing it you're in for a fabulous golf experience at this challenging course carved out of mature forest, with natural water hazards, professional caddies guiding you round, and chattering monkies commenting on your swing. Catch a bite and a cool drink at the turn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Safari Park Hotel
#21 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
The Bedelle
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Property: Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing