We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$125
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Ribbit99
Louisiana

If you're a light sleeper, avoid this hotel!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 3, 2016via mobile
I stayed at the Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel at the recommendation of my safari tour operator. The staff, bar, breakfast buffet and complimentary wifi alone deserve a rating of 4+. The room was somewhat dated but functional. I have a major issue with the noise from the neighboring nightclub/casino. It was awful. I mean, seriously awful to the point where I was looking for alternative hotels at 3AM. Somehow I made it through the night, but I'm sorry to say that I cannot recommend this hotel simply because of the noise from the neighboring nightclub.
Date of stay: August 2016
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Oct 29, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your previous visit to the city.
First and foremost I would like to apologize for the noise disturbance that you had to endure during your stay with us. It is of great concern to us that you did not get to enjoy good quality sleep. We are working towards a solution that will ensure that you or any other of our guests will go through the same. We are, however, grateful for your review of our hotel highlighting our staff, the bar, breakfast and our complimentary Wi-Fi as our major strengths.

It is our hope that we will welcome you back to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel in the near future that you may enjoy what we have to offer without the noise disturbance.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$401
$321
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $321
  • Expedia.com
    $321
  • Vio.com
    $321
0.8 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$79
$60
  • ibis Styles
    $60
  • Expedia.com
    $61
  • Vio.com
    $60
0.3 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$203
$162
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
    $162
0.3 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$76
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $69
  • Priceline
    $76
  • Hotels.com
    $69
1.9 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$99
$71
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $72
  • Expedia.com
    $72
  • Priceline
    $79
1.9 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
IHG
$90
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $90
  • Expedia.com
    $90
2.1 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Radissonhotels.com
$148
  • Booking.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
    $148
1.1 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$142
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $143
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
    $142
9.7 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$41
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $34
  • ZenHotels.com
    $32
  • Expedia.com
    $38
4.8 miles from Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nairobi
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
58
201
170
52
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
201
170
52
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 503 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

One of the originals as evident by the lack of lifts and the nature of the building.

First up, the staff are very good being friendly and eager to assist. The hotel grounds are lovely being a bit of an oasis of manicured green. The pool area is lovely and the pool spotless. The hotel has a gym but I did not get a handle to use it.

Rooms are clean and in pretty good condition. Bathrooms have my pet hate having the shower in the bath. This being said the bathrooms are clean,

Beds are well made with clean sheets. The beds are quite hard but not bad. There is no AC in the rooms but they are fitted with ceiling fans. There are also electronic mozzie repellants but I suggest a go quality spray repellant in the summer months as well.

Breakfast (if in included in the package) is a pretty good buffet offering with eggs to order. They do a good steak for dinner but I am not a fan of their burgers. It is a bit hard to find a really good coffee but I did not manage to find a really good coffee anywhere.

There is a pool side cafe and and pool bar. Both are pleasant.

Access, there are no lifts I could see. Those less mobile would be better on the ground floor... Mind you the staff will happily attend to your bags and get you to your room.

Noise can be an issue. On sturdy night on pay week the dance club next door really does take off (Until 4 in the morning). Suggest a room facing the pool or the garden on the other side of the hotel is a good option.

There is an in house hairdresser (the Cutting Room) which appears to do good trade.

I would love to give this a very good for the staff ..... Who deserve it, but some of the facilities (bad harness, shower in bath and access militate against this). The gardens, pool area, charm and staff are really very good. A solid 3.5 really.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your previous visit to the city.
Thank you for taking your time to give a detailed review of our hotel highlighting our staff, food, hotel grounds, cleanliness, breakfast and the pool. At Jacaranda Hotels, we are committed to meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations. It is due to this culture that we meet all reports of unmet expectations with great concern. We wish to apologize for not meeting our expectations on our offering of coffee, in-room ACs in all the rooms, our burgers, the accessibility to our rooms and the noise levels in the hotel. We take this feedback positively and we most definitely use it to better ourselves.

It is our hope that we will welcome you back to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel soon.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

The hotel is very welcoming and I feel like my home when travelling to Kenya. It is close to almost anything ranging from shopping mall...eating places...small Kenyan handmade stuff...

Welcome staff, and nice food in wonderful service...guest relations that make you feel that you are home by checking on you regularly.

If you care for a safari day, its easy to book and arrange with the hotel too.

Room tip: Pool side rooms are great!!!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kondwanim2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi.
We are grateful for your review of our hotel highlighting our staff, our food and our service as our major strengths.
We are glad that you like the interaction with our Guest Relations team. At Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, we are committed to enhancing our guests’ stay.
It is always a pleasure welcoming you back home.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

The hotel is conveniently located half a block from The Sarit Centre (shopping mall with a bank branch that opens on Sundays) and a USD 5 taxi ride from the Nairobi National Museum. Very quiet, our room was a little dated especially the bathroom, towels, and carpet. Lack of air-con and the fact that housekeeping opens the window during the day can be annoying. Breakfast buffet is very good, but the options we chose for our three dinners there (pastas and steaks) were very poor. Accessibility is terrible: there are stairs to everywhere (rooms, pool, restaurant, etc.).

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your previous visit to the city.
We are grateful for the good review of our facilities and services highlighting location, tranquility and our breakfast buffet as our major strengths.
It is unfortunate, however, that you did not like our process of airing the room by opening the window and also the meals that you had in the restaurant. We are truly apologetic of this and hope that you contact us on gm@jacarandahotels.com whenever next you are staying with us so that we may take your preferences on meals and how you would like us to treat your room when cleaning it.
We recognize that you did not like the lack of ACs in the rooms, elevators and you found our rooms dated. We wish to confirm that we will embark on a renovation of the hotel rooms soon and that we will take all these into consideration.
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel as it will help us better our products, processes and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Staff were lovely and very helpful, rooms were big, clean and had wifi. Felt very safe and secure here, which hasn't been the case in all Nairobi hotels. Good range of food, breakfast is buffet style and dinner menu is good. When booked, was described as near to the airport, which it is not - especially if you take into account Nairobi traffic. Overall, a decent hotel that's worth a stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GF_126338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your previous visit to the city.
We are grateful for the good review of our facilities and services highlighting staff friendliness, room size, cleanliness, buffet breakfast and the Wi-Fi as our major strengths.
It is unfortunate that there was some miscommunication in regards to the distance from the airport and for this we would like to apologize. I wish to request that you get in touch with me on GM@jacarandahotels.com and inform me where the description of the hotel being near the airport was given to you so that we may correct it so as not to mislead any other of our guests. Meanwhile, we will look into all our online channels to ensure that we display the actual distance from the airport.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Hotel is good, neat and clean. Room interiors (carpet) needs to be improved. More choices should be there in the food menu. Hospitality of hotel staff is very good. Access to other places is easy. Outside lawn and pool is good.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rizwan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for making Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your previous visit to the city.
We are happy to read that you liked our neatness and cleanliness. We are also grateful for highlighting our location, pool and lawn and staff hospitality as being very good. We acknowledge the feedback that we should improve the room interiors. We are looking to achieve this by doing a refurbishment of the hotel in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel.

With Kind Regards,

Margaret Maingi,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews