We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would avoid if possible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would avoid if possible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

We were booked into the Jacaranda for two nights before starting a safari. It was basic, with hard beds, but was clean. The breakfast was poor and cold. The biggest problem was noise from a nightclub late at night followed my building works in the morning. Probably ok for one night but not for the start of a honeymoon

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and poor food.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Delloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    142
    135
    38
    14
See reviews for
33
103
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

What is the one thing you want when spending a one night stop over (safari) before a very early flight back to the UK (5am)... meal, drink early to bed and a good NIGHTS SLEEP!

They put us in rooms on the 1st floor... the music started at around 11 and just got louder and louder until it finally stoped at 4am. OK they offered to move us to another room at 3am - after we complained.

Why put us on the 1st floor if it is noisy... but to be honest there is no hiding from a pulsating beat at this volume. The management know about the problem... see 2007 entry and the fact that they could tell me when it would finish etc.

Everything else about the hotel is OK and staff are actually good but it is totally overshadowed if you have to get up at 5am with a migraine and face 15hour travelling.

Bottom line: DO NOT RISK THIS HOTEL if your intention is to get some sleep - You have been warned!

It is the the Virgin brochure as a Kenya Safari stop over but... you will get more sleep overnight in the airport lounge!

PS they didn't deliver one of the breakfasts we ordered but we were too stress out to eat anything anyway.

  • Liked — it had a good bed
  • Disliked — LOUD music all night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the Jacaranda on a very regular basis during 2004. It's an excellent hotel, with friendly staff who care about their guests.

The food in both the restaurant and bar is of a very high quality, and reasonably priced.

The hotel is across the road from a large, modern shopping centre with a variety of stores (including gift shops, grocery stores, clothing, electrical, etc) and a large cinema showing US movies.

A good choice for your stay in Nairobi.

  • Liked — Quality of service and friendly welcome from staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

Our trekking group stayed at the Jacaranda for 3 nights during the middle of January -- a safe period after the political riots at the beginning of the month. As you can imagine, the typical high-season crowds were not there.

The staff was courteous and friendly, the rooms were clean with strong showers, the pool area and food were quite good -- especially the hot breakfast buffet.

In all, I am not aware of any complaints from the 18 of us, and for me, I appreciated the comforts of an oasis. The Pizza Garden was an unexpected find for pretty good pizza and beer. Best nearby restaurant, however, is Haandi, across the street for excellent Indian food (dinner only).

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank MoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

Disco music all night and construction work all day. Had one meal which took ages to arrive and spent most of the night in the smallest room! Not to be recommended.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank notwaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night before setting out on our safari. After having just landed from a night flight with no sleep on board we were hoping for a bed but who checks out at 6 in the morning? Still there was plenty of tea and coffee and the Rhino Safaris rep took the time to do their welcome meeting etc etc. A room was soon available but we had gone past tired so thought we would make a day of it in Narobi. The hotel has a customer relations person who makes arrangements for you. We decided on the giraffe sanctary and she made the arrangements called one of the duty taxi drivers who took us and waited for us, well worth it.

The staff we encountered were all friendly and spoke fairly good English. Food was OK with no unwanted effects for us if you follow. The rooms have bottles of water in them and this was common place as you can't drink the water. Luggage was left here for a week as we went on safari and was stored securely.

As for reports of excessive noise we can't comment as we were asleep by 9pm we were so tired.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Property: Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Address: Waiyaki Way, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing