We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pizza Garden - lousy pizza, great music” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
388 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Pizza Garden - lousy pizza, great music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This restaurant is apparently part of Jacaranda Hotels group and is located next to the hotel in Westlands. It is very spacious, has and indoor and outdoor part, bar with TVs for watching sports events (mainly), a children's playground. Unfortunately, their pizza was awful, not tasty at all, very dry, the one with tuna only had a very, very distant hint of this ingredient, and the one with four kinds of cheese was terribly spicy and it was unbearable to eat it. On the plus side, they had a very nice band playing, and it seems they have this band every Friday. The musicians made very nice atmosphere, there was space for dancing. Loud music makes in impossible to talk, but all in all it was a nice evening, pity the food was not up to this level. But, they have some meat dishes, grilled vegetables, and also some kind of African buffet during the day (Monday - Friday). If you go, go for music, not for pizza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    128
    128
    34
    14
See reviews for
30
94
18
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

December 2013. We stayed there for a night.Good spot if you are planning to pass on the traffic. Next morning we started our trip to masai mara etc. Nothing great but close to a souvenir market. I guess it's a good choice if you want to skip Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlektra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at the Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

We further thank you for choosing to stay at the jacaranda Hotel on the eve of your trip to the Masaai Mara.
We were glad to be of service to you and assure you of our best attention, and service, in future,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The food is awesome, the service is great and the staff are really friendly.

The place is quiet and you can't believe that you're in the middle of a busy area in westlands.

Love the fries. I will come back for those.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemutai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Jacaranda hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our food, staff, and to have been of great service to you in our quiet amid the busy Westlands environment.

Feel welcome again to savour our sumptuous fries, and more,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Jacaranda Hotel is just ok. If it wasn't for the free wi-fi not sure how I would have made it through. :) The location is great considering is not far from a main shopping area, but the room could be a little brighter. The staff is excellent, rooms are clean, and the breakfast buffet has several options. If you're looking to eat there for dinner, I would suggest eating outside the hotel. I was in a group of 7 and it took over an hour for us to get our food which consisted of lentils, chicken, and other what I would consider, fast to cook items.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akilah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Greetings Akiliah,

Thank you for taking time to comment about Jacaranda hotel. We have noted that the free WI-FI services made your stay even more comfortable. Thank you. We have also noted that it took exceptionally long for your food to be served for your group of 17. This service delivery issue has been brought to the attention of the hotel management and is greatly appreciated. Both the Kitchen and the restaurant staff have been briefed on the same. As a hotel , we shall ensure that all the staff are continuously trained, with a view of providing great service to all our guests.

We assure you of our good service and attention at all times.

Thank you.

Sales and Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is okay if you're only staying for 1-2 nights. The sink in our room was clogged, we let the front desk know & it was fixed right away. I think the shower curtain needs to be changed every so often. I give them credit for their breakfast buffet & friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ilonggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you choosing to stay with us at Jacaranda Hotel, Nairobi. We really appreciate the good compliments about our breakfast selection and the positive comments about our staff.

Assuring you of our best service and attention at all times.

Kind regards,

Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff excellent,convenient as a stopover, secure grounds, lovely gardens and pool, superb breakfast. Restaurant poor. We were seated in the breakfast area although the restaurant was almost empty, why? No drinks offered at the table, had to ask for drinks and the food was aweful however we were given a small refund after raising our issues. Room shabby, bathroom appalling (would only stand in the bath for a shower, would not dream of having an actual bath, very grim) If you are looking for a basic and brief stay no problem, anything above this I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be convenient, with excellent staff and super breakfast.

Your comments on the restaurant food and drinks is important as it will enable us improve. We have always offered great food and service to each guest, and this being a single occurrence, we took note of your preference to prevent recurrence.

We have began various hotel upgrade projects geared towards a great guest experience. This includes the rooms, lighting, décor, amenities and public areas.

We would be delighted to keep in touch with you and let you know of the progress so that we may host you again in future.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here to attend a conference. The hotel has nice gardens and a pleasant atmostphere. The gym and the pool are a bonus. I would happily use this hotel again the next time I visit Nairobi - either on business or holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyhugotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Cathy,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Indeed our large gardens, swimming pool and gym are just a few of our strengths that enable us meet our guests’ expectations.

We would be delighted to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Emerald
The Hotel Emerald
#48 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Property: Jacaranda Hotel
Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing