We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxed Stay..Outdated Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Ranked #32 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed Stay..Outdated Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is as laidback as can be. Not ideal for the fast paced business traveller. However, Jacaranda's restaurant has a lovely breakfast spread and a very active gym where locals frequent.The rooms are large but the lighting is very bad.The low lighting and the outdated bathrooms give you a slightly creepy feeling. Staff is extremely polite and helps arrange safaris and local sightseeing .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shriyanka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Shriyanka,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I have taken note of your comments with regard to our rooms’ lighting and bathroom. We have taken these very seriously as we are planning major renovations and upgrades, in our rooms and public areas. Currently, a sample room is on progress and is expected to be complete in the next 2 weeks.

As we progress, we would like to contact you with the progress of our upgrades so that you may give us an opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    134
    132
    34
    14
See reviews for
32
95
19
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first visit to Nairobi, so I haven't got much first hand experience with the convenience level of hotels in this city. The Jacaranda was disappointing with regard to the general level of comfort of the rooms: they are dark, not very big, very outdated bathroom, and don't feel entirely clean. Which is probably more down to the fact that everything is old, rather than the effort put into cleaning - service and maintenance all seemed fine. The pool area is lovely, nice little bar with a small terrace under the trees. Also the breakfast is great, good choices and high quality food. For a vacation this would all be fine, but I wouldn't recommend it to demanding business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Lou2204,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I have taken note of your disappointment with regard to our rooms’ size, lighting and date. We have taken these very seriously as we are planning major renovations and upgrades, in our rooms and public areas. Currently, we have began replacing the beds and mattresses in all rooms and this will be complete in the next 2 weeks.

As we progress, we would like to contact you with the progress of our upgrades so that you may give us an opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

4 nights here at Jacaranda was excellent and I enjoyed my short stay to the fullest. Service was good and staff is very helpful. Only negative point was the connection of wifi which is bit poor and drops most of the time. Though the room that I stayed so close to a road, didn't disturb me at all. Good hotel to recommend and airport is not far from the hotel either. Try not to travel during peak hours because you could stuck in for hours just like in Bangkok and Jakarta!!!

Room Tip: No comments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadika122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us to be excellent, and in particular the helpful staff and good service.

Your feedback on the wifi is helpful to enable us establish the root cause of the wifi dropping and ensure a continuously stable connection. Feel free to contact me on kevin.kimutai@jacarandahotels.com.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped here twice. It's a nice hotel and is very relaxed. Not the highest class establishment ever but that's a good thing and it has a bit of charm. Breakfast certainly varied and good quality. Certainly very relaxing and the Pizza Garden, associated with the hotel, is good for a meal. Again, not the best food but cheap, simple and easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHoodedCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s food and service to be good.

In an effort to exceed our guests’ expectations, we are currently upgrading various aspects of the hotel including the rooms and restaurants; and your feedback is valuable to us as we improve.

I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a good hotel but not outstanding. As in most places that I have stopped in in Kenya, the staff are excellent and very friendly. Dining in the Pizza Garden, which is part of the hotel but opposite, is highly recommended as the food is excellent and cheaper than in the main restaurant. You can get a host of other things other than pizza! Security seems to be a priority as all gates into the hotel are guarded and locked at all times.The food is generally very good and there is an outstanding choice at breakfast. There is a good shopping mall to the rear of the hotel which has goods at reasonable prices. However, the hotel itself has a good tourist shop. There is an excellent outside bar and well and an indoor lounge. The only down side seems to be that their rate is exchange is poor. I would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracken3Haslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s location, staff, food and service to be good. We delight in meeting and exceeding each guest’s expectation.

Regarding the foreign exchange rates, our rates are applicable by guidelines issued by the Central Bank, and your feedback will enable us to be competitive in publishing our rates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps it was the location of my room, but my stay here was very noisy. This is a motel-style hotel and I had a metal staircase right outside my door. Late night arrivals and hotel staff kept clanking up and down the steps all through the night and early hours with the safari goers. As another reviewer noted, the beds are extremely hard, like a wooden plank, even with a 1" thick foam strip and cushioned bed topper. Between the noise and the bed, it was very hard to get a good nights rest! In addition, the cold water sink faucet didn't work and neither did the television sound. The internet did work fine, however.

The restaurant, however, was pretty good with a large selection of buffet items for breakfast and lunch and a pre-fixe menu for dinner. The lunch menu was interesting as it offered traditional Kenyan foods, and the locals who were there for a conference seemed to enjoy it. The garden was enjoyable; a little oasis amidst the hustle and bustle surrounding the hotel. The hotel is right across the street from the very good Sarit Centre mall.

Service at the hotel was very good and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the metal staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quinlad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Quinlad24,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you found several aspects of the hotel to be good, particularly the service, helpful staff, and the restaurant, breakfast and lunch buffet, and the dinner menu.

We have noted your feedback regarding the noise next to stair cases and we are currently looking at ways to sound-proof the guest rooms, including double gazing of windows. In mid September 2013, the hotel invested in new and very comfortable beds and mattresses for all guest rooms. These have been proven to be some of the best and most comfortable mattresses in the hotel industry. I hope that on your next visit, you will find the beds to meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is great, centrally located next to the Sarit Centre shopping complex. Reasonably priced and good for conferences and training workshops. The pool was not really used. The hotel is simple but clean. Rooms open to a hallway balcony which can make one feel unsafe. Not a luxury hotel so not so nice if you are on holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you found the breakfast to be great and enjoyed the hotel’s location. Indeed we ensure we offer value for money and exceed our guests’ expectations.

The weather and temperatures in Nairobi have been quite low over the month of August, which has resulted into few guests utilizing our swimming pools. Nevertheless, we are sure that once the temperatures are warmer, more guests will feel free to swim.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Many thanks and regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Property: Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Address: Waiyaki Way, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing