We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic Hotel with Good staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel with Good staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had an overnight stay at this Hotel. The Hotel has just basic facilities. Small rooms - may be because it is in the capital. Staff was good and helpful. We had good sleep and a great breakfast before pushing to airport for our flight to Joberg

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borntraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Borntraveller55,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to note that you had a good night’s rest and enjoyed your breakfast. In addition, our team is dedicated to provide professional, warm and helpful service.

Our rooms are well appointed and equipped to ensure an enjoyable stay. This includes : Tea and coffee making amenities, mini bar, hair dryer, and satellite TV. We are constantly improving on our products and services.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    142
    135
    38
    14
See reviews for
33
103
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Kenya and also African continent. My wife and I were tentative about what is in store for us. Reached hotel in afternoon. We were welcomed by a 'hot-towel' and a tasty juice. The warm feeling came down when we got a cold response at the reception. The warmth in the response remained the same through out our stay. We stayed on night. When we entered the room, were surprised not to find an air-conditioner, but later realized that we don't need one in many places in Kenya.

Room was clean so was the bathroom. Our bathroom didn't have an exhaust and so one can imagine how challenging it would have been.

There was a minibar in the room, but it was locked. We called the front desk five times but we didn't get anyone come over to the room to open it; so we gave up and walked to Safari Lounge. The folks in the Lounge were very welcoming, which was not the case with the Cafe folks.

The pool was small but OK to spend some time.
We felt the price of items in Gift Shop was way to high.
The signal quality in the television was not good, so it was not useful for us.

The place is surely getting old and needs attention.

This is surely not an obvious choice for the next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms having a view into the pool are are better than the garden view options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka Province, Zambia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just like my experience with the Carnivore Restaurant, there is no wow factor in this Hotel. I was warned by the receptionist that the entertainment sector close by can cause noise, but unfortunately there was no rooms available facing the garden site. TV channel selection poor and half scrambled, as I only stayed one night I could not be bothered. A bonus is the mall close by but that is about it. I did not feel particular welcome and no one really seems to be bothered as staff looked 'tired'. Skipped the breakfast so no opinion here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelindar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed here on business for 3 nights. very noisy - i think a niteclub was nearby but also there was no noiseproofing from the corridors. not very clean rooms either. breakie was nice though and if you're sick of omelettes at this stage there's a lot more to chose from. Mall behind the hotel (although nothing in it really) and a small market nearby. i wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Right now I M on a business trip in Kenya
B4 ariving a freind of mine sgsted me to stay @ Ole Sereni & I buked th same Hotel for 3 nights thru Mr. Rajiv Chadha of African Eden Ltd.
Ole Sereni was the best @ its price of $ 228 but the location was slightly awkward for me as I isolated so when I wanted to stay for a more night I rqsted Mr. Rajiv to sgst me a Hotel in the best locality
Rajiv sgsted me 2 stay @ westland area and recomended cpl of Hotels and finaly buked me @ Jacaranda @ $ 228 excusing that other Hotels he sgsted R ful or out of range
Wel I arived @ Jacaranda checked in and entered th room & found the Hotel has no elevator & no airconditioning in the rooms
I imediately called Rajiv who came to th hotel N explained that there R no Hotels avlbl which he sgsted and there R no gud choices fr me but to stay here
I said OK send me back to Ole Sereni
He said its a heavy trafic tym N it wil take me cpl of hours to reach Ole Sereni
I wish I had opted that cpl of hours and wud have stayed comfortably
I cud'nt sleep whole night as the temp in th room was not tht cold although th weather @ that night in Nairobi was gud
The hotel was not worth for th price I was charged
Half of th TV chanels wer not properly tuned out of not more than 16 chanels
Overall had very bad experience and wil never stay in any of Jacaranda hotels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitsahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three nights at Jacaranda and I was pleasantly suprised with the quality of customer care. It is however a little expensive but close to the Sarit Centre - A nice shooping mall. I was part of an Anti bribery conference and we held the conference in the Jacaranda Conference Centre. It is a great place for meetings and trainings too.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms over looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaggwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kaggwa,

Thank you very much for the feedback. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

regards

James Chege
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely not the best hotel in Nairobi and better avoided if you are staying for more than a night. However, if you are only crashing in Nbo for a night, its a good value. Breakfast is OK, rooms are very comfy and clean. However, especially friday an saturday nights, Jacaranda neighbourhoodnis very busy and noisy due to night clubs. Also, there are some meaningless spaces on the room door and bathroom windows which let the mosquitos in. I've stayed in Jacaranda 7-8 times and all were one night (5-6 hrs) stays.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Property: Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Address: Waiyaki Way, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing