We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for First Night in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Ranked #37 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here for our first night in Kenya before going off on safari and would happily stay here again.

We had a nice evening meal sat on the terrace of the bar by the pool. The pool looked nice but we didn't have time to use it. Breakfast was very plentiful and well presented.

Our room was a standard room which was fine but we did have a problem with the toilet. We reported this to the reception who immediately sent someone to look at it. The guy quickly decided that he couldn't fix it so we were again immediately moved to another room just down the corridor. All very efficient

All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShepofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 398 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

Spent a night at the hotel with my wife and was impressed.

This iscertainly one of the cheaper hotels in Nairobi in its category and we were not disappointed. Its quite scenic for a hotel in the busy Westlands area and we enjoyed our short stay.

Didn't get to taste the dinner coz we were out partying but the breakfast was great, rooms were neat and clean..

Room Tip: Side facing away from Sarit Centre, the Mega shopping Centre.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Booked this hotel through my office and got a special rate of 189 $ per night (usual rate was more than 250 $)!! If it was up to me, I wouldn’t have paid more than 89 for this hotel. The hotel is really out dated and is in need of serious renovation. The hotel has no lifts and since I was staying upstairs, my luggage had to be carried all the way up there!! The room was a good reflection of the general situation of the hotel and frankly it was quite depressing. The worst part was the malfunctioning shower in the bathroom that was never fixed despite several complaints to the reception/management.

The only good thing about the hotel is its location. It is in a safe neighborhood and Taxis are freely available outside the hotel. It is also right in front of a shopping center which is very convenient. Apart from this one factor, I could not find anything positive about the hotel. It is definitely way overpriced for the services offered, and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sriramhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights out of necessity as our preferred location was booked. We were charged a premium rate for their most basic room which had no hot water in the shower and the room was very noisy. We were shorted a couple of towels on day two which, on advising house-keeping took several hours to resolve. Upon check-out we had a polite conversation with the Hotel manager about these issues however he declined to modify our room charge in any way. We subsequently moved to the Fairview which is a much superior Hotel and less expensive.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairview.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augrabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Rooms have tea-making facilities and fan. Fairly basic. Bit noisey from electric unit in hotel grounds. Swimming pool ok. Handy for supermarket over the road if you need anything. Attached pizza Garden restaurant very good value and nice food. Breakfast was ok. Visited elephant orphanage and giraffe centre from here as time to kill. Neither were worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a total of 5 nights (not consecutively, as we were using Nairobi as our stopover point between other destinations in Kenya). Another friend had booked our rooms in advance via a travel agency and we had also paid for all 5 nights upfront.

Pros: the location of the hotel is fairly central and was convenient for us; the morning breakfast was a good start to the day, the rooms were clean with comfortable beds

Cons: the hotel is fairly dated and doesn't look like it's had any refurbishment in a while; the service is rather poor (e.g. the front desk was often 'confused' and despite being able to 'see our booking and payment' in the system, in one instance, still couldn't give us a room; the cleaning service came in and took all our towels, but did nothing else and didn't even replace the towels); if you have a room with windows facing the main road you'll be able to hear the thumping beats of the club across the road.

Overall, it's an ok hotel to stay at for one night (or lots of one nights at a time), but there are better (we spent another night at a different hotel because this one was full and it was much nicer, but the same price).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezoar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here on first night of our arrival on our safari in Kenya. It is decent hotel, a bit old in construction. Rooms were nice, with comfortable bed and LCD TV. Bathroom was clean with a bath tub.
Seems quite popular with locals as well. It is only 3 floors high with no lift. They charge you for everything extra including swimming pool usage, gym usage etc. They have in house restaurant, pizzeria and room service is available. There is a small curio shop. We had breakfast and the breakfast spread was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godbolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
0.3 mi away
Bidwood Suite Hotel
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#24 of 167 in Nairobi
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
#40 of 167 in Nairobi
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lotos Inn & Suites
Lotos Inn & Suites
#54 of 167 in Nairobi
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel

Address: Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $119 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing