We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK but noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jacaranda Hotel
Ranked #34 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
630 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“OK but noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed for just 1 night here prior to going on safari. The best thing about this hotel is the garden restaurant. It is a delight and the high vaulted wooden ceiling is great. Food is good too.
Unfortunatly we didn't get a good nights sleep as there seemed to be a lot of both traffic noise and noisy guests along the corridor/balconys. As our room was over looking the hotel car park at the back, guests/workers? were going to their cars from very early in the morning(5am on) and it seems every car there is fited with a "beeper" when it is opened!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near to the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    128
    129
    34
    14
See reviews for
30
94
19
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was worried about staying here after reading reviews but i was pleasently surprised!

the area in nairobi is grubby and a little disheartening but thats nairobi! once inside the hotel you had no idea of the busy life going on around it, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful and the food was good. i worried for nothing!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailing31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

jacaranda is around 60% of the cost if the likes of Serena, Norfolk and Sankara and in the heart of Westlands so less traffic. Friendly staff, nice rooms, nice pool and good food.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I was here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was large and clean, the staff were friendly and attentive and the internet was fast and reliable, although you had to buy time. I would really prefer if they would simply include internet in the price (raise the rate a bit if you have to) rather than deal with buying hours. Meals were tasty, if uninspired and the restaurant staff were so nice. The place is a bit away from the city ctr, in Westlands, and in NBO traffic that short distance can mean a 1 hour drive to downtown. Otherwise, there's a shopping mall across the street incl coffee shops, bookstore(s) and a supermarket. Another more upscale mall is about a 10 min walk from the hotel. Walk, explore.
Overall, in a city with many overpriced disappointments, the Jacaranda was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetblast25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I've never before stayed in a hotel where every member of staff was so incredibly helpful and kind. From the moment we arrived to the time we left a week later, every person we came across was exceptional.

The hotel itself is ok for place to stay in the city. Right next to the Sarit Centre it's pretty convenient for the north side of the city, although getting to Giraffe Manor or the baby elephant sanctuary is a bit of a trek.

Lovely swimming pool, decent restaurant (although nothing special, but nice).

Children absolutely adored and very, very welcome in this hotel (we were travelling with ourr 6 year old, and our 10 month old baby).

Room Tip: Avoid the side that has numbers 113,114,115
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassietail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Spent one night in this hotel at beginning of a Virgin Holidays safari and one at the end. Both times the check in was fine and the room was good. I was a solo traveller in a small group. Room was spotless. The bed was kingsized with good mosquito net. Bathroom was modern and clean and supplied with toiletries. There was a decent sized bath with overhead shower. Water pressure in the bath and shower was poor the first night I stayed here (ok in the sink), but fine on the last night. There was no airconditioning, only a ceiling fan, so the room was pretty stuffy and I found it difficult to sleep. The windows could be opened, but there was a lot of traffic noise, so I had to keep them shut. I have marked it down for sleep quality because of this. There was a choice of restaurants - a poolside bar/restaurant, pizza restaurant (you had to go across the road for this) and an a la carte restaurant. I ate in the a la carte both times. Food was excellent and well presented - there was a 5 course table d'hote menu for 1800 ks (about £15). Service was good too - very pleasant staff. Buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel is located a short taxi ride from the National Museum but you need to get a taxi to the central part of Nairobi and the traffic is awful! If you have spare time I recommend hiring a driver for a few hours. I did this and went to the Karen Blixen Museum and Kazuri Bead Factory in the leafy suburbs, about a half hour drive away, then came back to the National Museum. The driver waited outside each location and then took me on to the next one. It cost about £35 for 5 hours and was arranged through the Virgin representative at the Jacaranda.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonGlobetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

WE had a great time at Jacaranda - staff were very friendly. The gym was well equipped. The pool was well maintained. The poolside bar service was efficient. We were on B/B basis - breakfast had plenty of choice - however it was necessary to remind staff to get refills. Quality of fruit could have been better. Staff only too happy to please you when asked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safarisurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Emerald
The Hotel Emerald
#47 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Property: Jacaranda Hotel
Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing