We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Consistently good, kid-friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #41 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good, kid-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Java House is popular among people who appreciate consistently decent food---what you ordered last time will be the same this time, no surprises. They are very willing to make changes and accommodations tho and are great about bringing kids coloring pages and crayons---they are the only place in Nairobi that I know of to do that AND they bring kids food out before the rest. Some branches have play structures for kids. Kids menu ranges from 200/= to 400/=.
Really good breakfasts and burgers. Recommend the mango smoothies and the milkshakes---again, only place in Nairobi that does a decent shake!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chance for a cup of coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

For a quick bite and a refreshing coffee, Java House is good choice.

Staff is helpful but often busy, and the snacks are worth trying !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The coffee isn't as good as it should, but the breakfast is better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am always disappointed by the coffee here which is a shame. However, the breakfast menu is great while a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peetkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
377 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Java House, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place for breakfast or lunch. Very good menu and the coffee selection is great. The main attraction for me is the possibility to buy coffee beans or ground coffee to take away. The beans are roasted fresh very day and is very good flavor. The prices are excellent for the value. The wi fi connection is also excellent, so easy to do some work and have some coffee. Good selection of deserts as well. Huge portions of the cakes and nice selection of ice creams as well. The Java House on the top floor of the Westgate Shopping mall is nice quiet area to work and enjoy a good lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Under staffed and under trained leads to under everything!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went for a Saturday morning breakfast and the place was abt three quarters full. Order was taken promptly and then we waited one hour for our food for three persons. It then came in bits and pieces. Badly made in a hurry and cold and burnt. The house coffee was horribly bitter. Seemed badly made though how that is possible is beyond me when it is mechanised. I am sure those with this experience will conclude as I did that the kitchen is understaffed and without systems being followed. We were however too impatient to care by now so ate a bit paid the rather high bill by kenyan comparables and left. Would hesitate to try again. Having said that I do feel that java is not alone in this situation. Across the board it would appear that good trained staff are hard to find these days and most hotels and restaurants are declining in quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anuj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing