We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where work becomes a holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nyati Hill Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nyati Hill Cottages to your Saves list
Nyati Hill Cottages
Masai Lodge Road | Mbagathi, Nairobi 00503, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Almere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place where work becomes a holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Together with my husband I have been nearly two weeks in Nyati Hill.
On this spot in the beautiful surrounding of the Nairobi National park we had two cottages.One with a kitchen and living. The other with a bedroom and a bathroom. Plenty of place outside to sit, relax, but more exciting: to spot wildlife! The people in charge were very friendly and Rose became like family.
The swimmingpool was lovely especialy after a days work at the nearby school where I worked.

Room Tip: All cottages are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Arriving late night from JKIA we were welcomed by Rose and Sarah and we immediately feel very well. Everything was very well prepared for our 9 persons Group's 5 days stay.
Waking up the next morning so close to Nairobi National Park is like a dream. The architecture and the arrangements of the Cottages are second to none.
The Staff, Rose and Sarah, was able to arrange whatever we want...Thank you!
All the Group can highly recommend Nyati Hill without ending!
Else + Lars K. + friends

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welford on Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were a group of 11 looking for a place to stay in Nairobi. We rented out 5 of the cottages and couldn't fault the accomadation. It was clean and very well presented. Alot of thought had gone into the decor of each cottage - each one was different. The swimming pool was fantastic with views into Nairobi National from the poolside. Amazing to be so close to such amazing animals.
All the people we dealt with before and during our stay were very helpful and very friendly. They organised taxi's for meals out etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We felt very lucky to have found such an oasis in such a busy city and would highly recommend Nyati Hills to anyone visiting Nairobi/Kenya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1964fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our stay at Nyati Hill has been a spendid one. Really relaxed, friendly people who do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
For young children (2-4 years old) it can be a bit boring, although the swimmingpool is excelent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Nyati Hill for two weeks in October 2012. Just arrived at Nairobi Airport we were picked up by Bernard, a very friendly taxi driver. Driving on the highway and the roads to Nyati Hill we saw animals and people walking - wherever you go you will see people walking and wild animals running around.

When we arrived at Nyati Hill the staff welcomed us and showed us around. What a fabulous view – gazelles, zebras and buffalos grazing only a few hundred meters away! We stayed in the Giraffe, Lion & Elephant unit. The cottages were very authentic and with plenty of space.

Everything is very different in Kenya – the people are very friendly and easygoing (hakuna matata!), the landscape is different and it's impressive to watch and hear the wild animals in their right element.

After a couple of days we visited the Mbagati School. We had a guided tour around the school, we saw the boarding school, the garden and the class rooms. Our 3 children attended classes with pupils at their own age - they all had a great experience! With the words of our oldest son: "I attended class 7 at the Mbaghathi School for 3 days. I was supposed to attend a few lessons but I liked it so much that I stayed for 3 days. Some of the boys and I became friends. They helped me in the class and we played football in the breaks."

I attended the class with our sponsor child Sofia. Later we had lunch together with the teachers and pupils - so now we know what kigali with vegetables is like. For some of the children the daily lunch at school is the only hot meal they get. Leftovers were given to children who could eat more. We brought a football for the kids. When they had the ball they shouted with joy.

At Nyati Hill we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, the pool and the view over the national park. We never got tired of watching the wild animals. One day a giraffe family came by to drink water from the river just below the cottages. Another day a group of curious baboons came very close - exiting and a bit scary at the same time. At night time we heard the hyenas and sometimes the lions. One night we could hear a lion roaring very close to the cottages.

Thank you for a great stay at Nyati Hill !

Best regards,
Brith & family
Aarhus, Denmark

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

24 hours was too short on this beautifull spot, complet service from pick up in airport, visit Mbagathi school and Karen Blixen museum. The rooms was the best we experienced on our 14 days trip in Kenya/Tanzania.

Bedst Regards
Poulsen/Friborg, Denmark

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Friborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days in these very nice and spacefull cottages before and after our safaritour. Our family of 5 had 3 cottages to for sleeping and one for living/dining. The place have very nice gardens and swimmingpool and is situated just beside Nairobi National Park, and we saw animals from the terrace every day. The place is not a full scale hotel but yet very comfortable. They arrange transport for airport and Can aldo recommend a very good safaridriver (David).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mads M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#33 of 156 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
7.3 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#8 of 217 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 181 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Longview Suites
Longview Suites
#66 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Osoita Lodge
Osoita Lodge
#26 of 181 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyati Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyati Hill Cottages

Property: Nyati Hill Cottages
Address: Masai Lodge Road | Mbagathi, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by peaceful nature and the wild life of Nairobi National Park the Nyati Hill Cottages are the perfect base for relaxation, authentic safari and unforgettable holidays. Only twenty kilometres from Nairobi you will find the charming Nyati Hill Cottages, as a self contained and perfect getaway for short or long term stays with family or friends. Enjoy your stay in the unique privacy and tranquillity offered in each of our seven cottages which supply all modern facilities and warm comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nyati Hill Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing