We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyati Hill Cottages
Ranked #21 of 277 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were a group of 11 looking for a place to stay in Nairobi. We rented out 5 of the cottages and couldn't fault the accomadation. It was clean and very well presented. Alot of thought had gone into the decor of each cottage - each one was different. The swimming pool was fantastic with views into Nairobi National from the poolside. Amazing to be so close to such amazing animals.
All the people we dealt with before and during our stay were very helpful and very friendly. They organised taxi's for meals out etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We felt very lucky to have found such an oasis in such a busy city and would highly recommend Nyati Hills to anyone visiting Nairobi/Kenya.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 1964fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Nyati Hill Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our stay at Nyati Hill has been a spendid one. Really relaxed, friendly people who do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
For young children (2-4 years old) it can be a bit boring, although the swimmingpool is excelent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Nyati Hill for two weeks in October 2012. Just arrived at Nairobi Airport we were picked up by Bernard, a very friendly taxi driver. Driving on the highway and the roads to Nyati Hill we saw animals and people walking - wherever you go you will see people walking and wild animals running around.

When we arrived at Nyati Hill the staff welcomed us and showed us around. What a fabulous view – gazelles, zebras and buffalos grazing only a few hundred meters away! We stayed in the Giraffe, Lion & Elephant unit. The cottages were very authentic and with plenty of space.

Everything is very different in Kenya – the people are very friendly and easygoing (hakuna matata!), the landscape is different and it's impressive to watch and hear the wild animals in their right element.

After a couple of days we visited the Mbagati School. We had a guided tour around the school, we saw the boarding school, the garden and the class rooms. Our 3 children attended classes with pupils at their own age - they all had a great experience! With the words of our oldest son: "I attended class 7 at the Mbaghathi School for 3 days. I was supposed to attend a few lessons but I liked it so much that I stayed for 3 days. Some of the boys and I became friends. They helped me in the class and we played football in the breaks."

I attended the class with our sponsor child Sofia. Later we had lunch together with the teachers and pupils - so now we know what kigali with vegetables is like. For some of the children the daily lunch at school is the only hot meal they get. Leftovers were given to children who could eat more. We brought a football for the kids. When they had the ball they shouted with joy.

At Nyati Hill we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, the pool and the view over the national park. We never got tired of watching the wild animals. One day a giraffe family came by to drink water from the river just below the cottages. Another day a group of curious baboons came very close - exiting and a bit scary at the same time. At night time we heard the hyenas and sometimes the lions. One night we could hear a lion roaring very close to the cottages.

Thank you for a great stay at Nyati Hill !

Best regards,
Brith & family
Aarhus, Denmark

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

24 hours was too short on this beautifull spot, complet service from pick up in airport, visit Mbagathi school and Karen Blixen museum. The rooms was the best we experienced on our 14 days trip in Kenya/Tanzania.

Bedst Regards
Poulsen/Friborg, Denmark

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Friborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days in these very nice and spacefull cottages before and after our safaritour. Our family of 5 had 3 cottages to for sleeping and one for living/dining. The place have very nice gardens and swimmingpool and is situated just beside Nairobi National Park, and we saw animals from the terrace every day. The place is not a full scale hotel but yet very comfortable. They arrange transport for airport and Can aldo recommend a very good safaridriver (David).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mads M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a great place to relax and unwind while gazing over the national park. Nighttime you can see the skyline of Nairobi. Staff are extremely accommodating and super friendly. Rose made our breakfast special by filling the fridge daily. All the comforts and so peaceful. The cottages are super clean and comfortable. We were a couple with two single lady friends and had two cottages and a main kitchen/ lounge area to share. Was a great set up.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank traveller12386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peer J, Director of Sales at Nyati Hill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry we didn't respond before now - but better late than never :)

Your review is most important to us - being a new accommodation in the Nairobi area, reviews are the key to attract more guests. And more guests mean more financial help to our school!

We hope to welcome you again, and remember that we cooperate with the best safari guide in Nairobi, and that we have contacts in the coastal area. And we would be happy to help you arrange your next trip to Kenya, should you consider it.

Best wishes
Nyati Hill Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Beatrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 167 in Nairobi
655 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#141 of 167 in Nairobi
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#2 of 213 in Nairobi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Longview Suites
Longview Suites
#25 of 277 in Nairobi
22 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#3 of 213 in Nairobi
198 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 277 in Nairobi
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyati Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyati Hill Cottages

Address: Masai Lodge Road | Mbagathi, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: $176 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by peaceful nature and the wild life of Nairobi National Park the Nyati Hill Cottages are the perfect base for relaxation, authentic safari and unforgettable holidays. Only twenty kilometres from Nairobi you will find the charming Nyati Hill Cottages, as a self contained and perfect getaway for short or long term stays with family or friends. Enjoy your stay in the unique privacy and tranquillity offered in each of our seven cottages which supply all modern facilities and warm comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nyati Hill Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing