We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
DXB
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Kempinski is a good place to stay when visiting Nairobi for business (this of course is depending on where one has to be). The hotel is rather new, clean, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Some reviewers wrote the rooms were rather small. I personally feel the rooms are absolutely all right. The hotel has a very good gym (free weights, machines and dedicated room with cardio machines). The restaurants are all right; nothing to complain. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety and is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora_Boots_Swiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Dora_Boots_Swiper
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
My team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Kempinski experience in Nairobi, and were happy with the room, gym and the restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best Regards
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    146
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
65
111
27
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Kempinski is a relatively new development just off teh Mombasa road, having said that its a quiet location with no issue from road noise- I had a room facing the road and it was fine.
Hotel is light and open in feel but with good luxury touches in reception, on check in staff were very diligent and friendly.
My room was a good size with a very comfy large bed, bathroom very good with a shower stall and bath, well equipped with toiletries and spotlessly clean. The only thing teh room needs in my opinion is coffee/tea making facilities, when I mentioned this on departure I was impressed that the staff advised that whilst I could order fresh coffee/tea at any time they would ensure on my next visit that there were facilities in my room.
Breakfast was as you would expect very good with everything you would expect of a good hotel, again attentive staff. I also ate in the Italian restaurant, the experience inst fantastic a little lacking in atmosphere, however the food (I ordered steak medallions in Parmesan) was very good indeed, really tasty and extremely tender.
Main bar is a nice place to meet for business and pleasure, very well priced wines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martynjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Martynjw,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
I am glad to read that your sense of arrival was grand and you were happy with the room. Apologies in regard to the tea / coffee making facilities, all our rooms will have this amenity by end of quarter three this year. We have however noted your requirement for tea / coffee in the room and should you stay with us next before the end of quarter three this year, we will ensure that fresh Kenyan coffee / tea is delivered to your room.
Thank you for the feedback in regard to your dining experiences.
In case I can support with future reservations for the hotel, please do get in touch.
Best Regards
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited the spa with a friend and was so impressed with the service, visited again giving my mum a birthday treat.
Booked the latter appointment with the help of Hausa, who was very friendly and answered each of my queries politely. The facilities at the spa are fantastic. From the jacuzzi, steam room to the sauna which one gets to enjoy with a spa date at Kempinski. They have a warm swimming pool which has an infinity-like feel as it overlooks the busy Chiromo road below........lovely.
There is a cafe/pool bar facility but was not operational at the time of my visits.
The staff are very professional and not overbearing in their presence around the spa. Prior to treatment a lovely lady Natalie gave a short consultation and led my mum to the treatment room. She went all out. The treatment as my mum said was lovely and I totally believe it, as the one I had a week earlier was tops.
They have a lovely relaxation area with lounge sleepers/beds and dim lights (can brighten them-one's preference)
The ladies room is very well set up with warm brown beige hues in the ambience and very clean. Each locker provides a fluffy bath sheet, robe, slippers, shower cap and there are many other amenities like lotions and even a dental kit!!! Pool area is also very clean and clean pool towels are provided.
Their fitness area is well equipped too though didn't have the pleasure of using the facility.
They use the Balcony bar menu i believe, for bites and the chicken wings were spiced to perfection. My friend also seemed to enjoy his spare ribs.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Arrived at the Cafe Villa Rosa and was welcomed by a lovely hostess, Faith who showed us to our table and introduced us to the breakfast buffet.
Wide variety from a salad area, fantastic pastries and cereals, fresh juice-yup, had to check on that, and yes the orange juice was from freshly squeezed oranges.
They had meatballs, and they were very yummy. Sehrishi was at the egg and pancake station and boy can she whip a pancake. Had the best I've ever had for breakfast. I'd go back just for those pancakes. Kudos.
Waitstaff were great too, big thanks to Leah.
Considering the service we received and the buffet spread, I'd say it was worth every cent.
I'll also recommend this to anyone who cares to listen.
Good work.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustciru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear wanderlustciru,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, with emphasis on Kempinski The Spa and Café Villa Rosa.
The Spa team and I are delighted to hear that you have been to the Spa on more than one occasion, and we hope to have you return for another treatment of your choice soon. Do keep posted on our monthly offers by referring to the Villa Rosa Kempinski Website – Spa Offers Section.
Glad to also read that you enjoyed Breakfast at Café Villa Rosa. Look forward to having you back for pancakes once again.
I will definitely pass on your gratitude to the team. We love it when our guests are happy.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Room size quite small but all the mod cons cant complain. Lovely bathroom could do without the glass screen between the room and bathroom. Avoid the italian restaurant! head chef is very aggresive. When I told him my meal was not acceptable he was very aggresive although did change the dish and then watched over me eating it. Very uncomfortable experience. He needs to stick to the staple italian dishes rather than his own let down creations. Generally service is slow in Kenyan hotels.

Room Tip: Room service far better than the restaurants strangely enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RashidAgadir_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear RashidAgadir_Morocco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi and selecting the hotel as your preferred accommodation choice in the city.

It is unfortunate to read that you were not pleased with your dining experience at LUCCA. We apologize for this. We have addressed the issues with the chef and we do hope that you will return to have a memorable experience at LUCCA, it is one of the popular restaurants in the city.
In case I can support with future reservations at the hotel, please do contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in many hotels in Nairobi since 25 years; up to now this is one of these hotels which surprised me pleasantly!
Let me start with a tip where the hotel building could improve on: Chiromo Rd is very noisy and there are no double windows installed in the rooms facing the road :(
Another tip: change the broken light bulbs illuminating the building soon (the top included) as as it gives the new building already a shabby look from the outside.
The food in the 3 restaurants is fantastic! From the Vila Rosa Cafe through the Lucca up to the Pan Asian 88! Hans (who is unfortunately leaving :( ) trained his staff to perfection!
Great is the service from reception to housekeeping, from the conference staff to the man and women who service the great meals.
Special thanks for those who made me feel at home: Kate, Betty, Daisy, Margaret, Cecilia and Jacqueline and to Steve, George, Samson, Shirag and of course Hans. See you soon!
Lex

Fortunately I will return another 4 to 5 times to this great hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are most probably quieter as rooms facing the main road are sooo noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Lex L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski.
My team and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel and thought of Villa Rosa Kempinski to be a hotel that you can return too.
I have passed on your compliments to all team members.
In reference to your feedback on the rooms facing Chiromo Road, we have already embarked on a project to increase the double glaze strength which will support with eliminating any disturbance from vehicles moving on the road
The light bulbs that needed replacement on the exterior have already been exchanged for new ones.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the near future, in case we can support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you are travelling to Nairobi, don't look for any other hotel; just book and stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski. A five-star luxury hotel in the capital of Kenya with wonderful restaurants, spa, pool, fitness center and of course beautiful rooms... The staff is perfect and everybody tries to make you feel at home. And they do! Thank you Kempinski...

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a balcony. And try the new Italian restaurant, LUCCA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebnem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear sebnem d,
Thank you for your review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, we really appreciate your feedback.
It’s such a pleasure to read that you thought of the hotel as your home in Nairobi.
Please do let us know when you plan your next trip to the destination, we would love to host you at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Luca is the Italian Restaurant at the new Villa Rosa, Kempinski Hotel in Nairobi.

The service is good & fast when Chef Silvio is on duty. The one time we visited when he was off duty service was not as good & quality of food not s good.

Room Tip: When dining: Always check how long service will take for food ordered. Check bottles of water or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgirl1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear jgirl1604,
Thank for you taking the time to write a review on LUCCA and visiting the outlet for meals.
I have taken note of your concerns and will definitely address this with the food and beverage team.
We do hope that you will return to try out some more of the Italian delicacies that are on offer at LUCCA.
Look forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Property: Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Address: Chiromo Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing