We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited Villa Rosa on 10th October for dinner. The staff were nice and receptive and very helpful in directing us around the new building although unfinished. The food was quite good as there were several choices from the Villa Rosa cafe.. the ambiance at the restaurant was very good, the tables quite spacious and the wait staff was always there attentive to our needs. My boyfriend managed to plot behind my back with the staff and made an excellent marriage proposal, really unexpected but the staff played their roles well and made it such a memorable evening. I must say, i cant wait to visit this hotel again when its complete and the other tempting restaurants are open! Very friendly, very cooperative staff.. do not think you will be disappointed if you are dining here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
I am extremely pleased to read that your boyfriend selected Cafe Villa Rosa as the venue of choice for your marriage proposal, and that you enjoyed the overall dining experience.
I will definitely pass on your compliments to the entire food and beverage team.
We do hope that you will be back in the near future to try out our specialty restaurants for when they open including Lucca, our Italian restaurant, 88, Pan Asian Restaurant and Tambourin, Moroccan Rooftop Lounge.
In case we can assist with future reservations, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    121
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
86
22
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The ambiance takes you away from the busy city and yet at the heart of it. The service warm and friendly for the ladies if you want to fell spoiled this is the place to be, the gentlemen when you want to be the king of the moment the Villa Rosa is the destination. for a few hours you shall be luxury with service custom made for you. The sea food is a must take.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review.
It is extremely rewarding to read that you enjoyed your visit to Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. I will definitely pass on your compliments on the delicious seafood to the Executive Chef and his team.
Kempinski Hotels create memorable journeys for its guests, and each moment is to be thought of as a celebration. Look forward to having you back with us soon, in the event that we can support with future reservations, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked into this new and quite impressive hotel for a 3 day break from 14th/17th September 2013 only to find out that some of the promised features do not yet exist.
On arrival we were quite impressed by the beautiful entrance, with its manicured grounds and very friendly staff, check in was very smooth and the greeting was impressive, hot towels and a refreshing drink to greet us.
We stayed in a beautiful deluxe room, extremely comfortable and well equipped, however, on day two we decided to have a quiet day and catch up on our sleep but despite us using the "do not disturb" button housekeeping constantly tried to enter the room to service it.

As we were on a relaxing break we were looking forward to relaxing by the pool and trying out the many restaurants and choice of food but none of these facilities exist yet, we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: I;m sure there is not a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
My team and I are glad to hear that you were happy with your room and service at the hotel.
We will share your candid feedback with the team, thanks for this.
We do apologize that the specialty restaurants were not open for you to try during this visit, however we do hope that you will return soon to try out Lucca, our Italian restaurant, 88 - Pan Asian and Tambourin the Moroccan Lounge.
In case we can support with future reservations, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is my second day at the hotel and I decided to share this review with you. This is my first stay at the hotel which was just opened earlier this month. The property is impressive and the staff is more than excellent. Starting with the front desk whose team (Pauline) was very welcoming and helpful, I started my enjoyable experience. The concierge team is helping me to get my lost luggage from the airport in a way that completely isolated me from the problem. The food is also great whether at breakfast (Katherine) or room service. Above all, I came across one of the staff whose title is "Lady in red" (Esther). Her job is to make sure that their guests are just enjoying their stay. I liked that!
If you want a hotel to stay at in Nairobi, I definitely recommend Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.

Room Tip: Don't worry! They are going to take care of you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powerfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on your recent stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
Glad to hear your overall experience at the hotel is impressive.
I will definitely pass on your compliments to all my colleagues, glad to also hear that you were happy with the role of The Lady in Red, she is the ‘ambassadrice par excellence’ of the hotel – instead of a red button to push on the phone, you can speak directly to a Lady in Red to receive personalised service, a very unique role at Kempinski Hotels.
Look forward to having you back with us again, in case we can help with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have enjoyed a sumptuous meal at The Kempinski Villa Rose and its definitely a place worth not missing when in Nairobi! Very elegant and the service perfect! Will be staying here for a long time to come whenever am in Nairobi which is often!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay at the hotel. I will definitely pass on your compliments to the kitchen team and the rest of my colleagues at the hotel.
At Kempinski its about creating memorable travel journeys, which include tasty food and beverage offerings which are simply unforgettable and faultless guest service.
Looking forward to having you back with us in the near future, please do let us know if we can support with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A friend and i had lunch on 15/09/2013,the staff were all very friendly,the attention from the parking area to the restaurant was very different from any other i have experienced,i felt very welcome and at home.I enjoyed the lunch immensely and my oh my,the decadent desserts!!! Loved each and every bite i ate...mmmm,i can still have the taste of the chocolate cake with raspberries and blueberries. The fruit was sooo fresh! Keep it up! Too bad i didn't get his name,but there was an amazing member of staff who served us the desserts and even carried them to our table..i'm definitely coming back after i work off those calories :)
Ella of guest relations gave us a great tour of the hotel at the end of our long lunch.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor facing the highway,the view is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the hotel and your lunch experience at Cafe Villa Rosa. My team and I are extremely delighted to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable.
We will definitely pass on your compliments to all colleagues.
Our Executive Chef, Pastry Chef and the rest of the food and beverage team look forward to having you over for a meal once again in the near future.
In case we can assist with any future reservations for the hotel's services please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were received warmly by Mr.Ken Kinyua and Susan the receptionist....they completely made us feel at home! Rooms have no single issue, food is great, and George in Concierge is very friendly! Hilary Siele

Room Tip: Superior rooms facing forest/road....has excellent balconies !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank director059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. My team and i are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience at the hotel. We will pass on your compliments to all our colleagues. Look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Property: Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Address: Chiromo Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing