We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveler rating
634
208
37
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
208
37
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony barbelly dancerin room diningbeautiful hotelworld classupon checkspecial thankssecurity checkheated poolbreakfast buffetchecking outcomfortable roomsmasai marabusiness tripluccaspatambourine
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 905 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel exterior is a pretty pink shade and has a beautiful hilly entrance. Rooms are smaller sized compared to other Nairobi hotels. A fair attempt of the lobby to look like Fullerton bay hotel in Singapore... But hardly matches up to it. In room dining menu is not as varied/tasty.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aruna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on your recent stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. Glad to hear that you liked the exterior look of the hotel and the entrance leading to the porte cochere, as you maybe aware Kempinski Hotels are recognized for their unique look - from historic buildings to the most avant-garde of modern architecture.
Hoping that when you stay with us next you will have the opportunity to try the variety of restaurants at the hotel including Lucca the Italian Restaurant and Delicatessen, 88, Pan Asian Restaurant, Tambourin, Moroccan Lounge, Cafe - Villa Rosa, the all day dining and Balcony for light bites.
Please let us know if we can assist with future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The East African Single Malt Club held its 5 year anniversary dinner and tasting at the Kempinski Villa Rosa on 7 September 2013. The club has firmly established itself and grown strong over the last 5 years and we wanted to celebrate in style. And we certainly did in the lavish surroundings of the Villa Rosa hotel where attention to detail by the staff and management was top quality. For the first time we invited wives and partners to a tasting so we were a much larger group than usual and the pressure was on to up our game and provide an entertaining night for our many guests. From pre-planning to personal attention and advice in getting our set up right, the Kempinski staff could not have been more helpful. On the night, the ballroom was beautifully laid out in true 5 star class. The staff coped brilliantly with our loose format and the meal was as good if not better than you can find anywhere in Nairobi. Every request was attended to with speedy efficiency. For a brand new hotel they were extremely well organised and the Club could not have wished for a better and more luxurious location for our special occasion.

On behalf of all our members and guests thank you to all Kempinski staff for giving us a night to remember and we will be back to see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AidanOMorgadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Villa Rosa Kempinski as your preffered venue for the 5th Anniversary of The East African Single Malt Club.
My team and I are delighted to note that all aspects of your engagement with the hotel were perfect. Glad to also hear that your guests were happy, and we look forward to having each one of you back with us at the hotel in the near future. In the event that we can be of any support with any of your future reservations, please do get in touch.
At Kempinski its about creating memorable experiences inspired by exquisite European Flair for all our guests, and glad to note we were able to do this for the guests of the East African Single Malt Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Rosa Kempinski for a Conference at the end of August 2013. The hotel had not yet been officially opened. This was also evident from the occasional paint smell and movement of staff and workers in getting things sorted out.

The hotel is located behind imposing gates along the busy Chiromo Lane and there is strict security at the entrance. I suppose one has to get used to this and staff are not keen on letting guests walking around in the area.

The rooms are great. I would however recommend getting a room away from the traffic.

The meals and service at lunch and dinner was good. The deserts were very, very tempting – needs some discipline not to over indulge. Some minor tweaks will emerge as the hotel moves to full operation.

I needed some local information and used the concierge service. The service from Genevieve Njoko was EXCELLENT. While I was at the conference, Genevieve found the information I needed, taxi costs to get there and entrance fees. This was typed up on a personalised letter and delivered to my room. Well Done!!

My only concern was the apparent lack of concern on the impact of the hotel service and approach on the Environment. Kenya, like the rest of Africa is a water and energy scarce environment. EVERY SINGLE light in the room switches on when one inserts the key card. Every day HUGE bath sheets are replaced, even if placed on the towel rack. The hand towels are replaced 2-3 times a day. Soaps, shampoos and gels are replaced every morning. Even though we were there for 3 nights. This might be in line with the Villa Rosa approach to 5 star service, but is certainly not an environmentally friendly approach.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors - AWAY from the traffic
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi.
We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the rooms and meals. We will pass on your compliments to the team. The Pastry Chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed his sweet creations from the Kempinski Kitchen.
Glad to also hear that Genevieve was able to support you with your request and make your stay that extra bit more special.
Kempinski Hotels worldwide integrate the hotels operations into the life of the local community and society of our host countries which is rewarding to the community of Kempinski colleagues. Please see the link below for more information on the responsible initiatives, of which Villa Rosa Kempinski will also partake.
http://www.kempinski.com/en/hotels/social-responsibility/corporate-social-responsibility/
Look forward to hosting you at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Right from the valet packing, sumptuous meals and excellent staff- young energetic and bright faced. Villa Rosa Kempinski radiates luxury, state of the art facilities, in-style decor one has to literally step out of the hotel to confirm you are in the busy old Nairobi... unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamsaidmohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. We are extremely pleased to hear that your exprience at the hotel was unforgettable right from the moment you drove in. As Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, we are committed to providing our guests with memorable journeys inspired by exquisite European flair. We believe life should be lived with style. Look forward to hosting you at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My organisation held it's 9th Annual Seminar at the recently opened Kepinski. This hotel is 5 stars in all respects - rooms, service, food, staff attention and dedication, and cleanliness. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardMercier, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi and thank you for also selecting Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi as your venue of choice for your 9th Annual Seminar. We will pass on your compliments to all our colleagues and hope to host you at the hotel once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews