We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning hotel with a chic concept, but very quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collingham Gardens Residence & Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Collingham Gardens Residence & Club
Ranked #51 of 226 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with a chic concept, but very quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Awesome concept and great hotel design, however there are not many guests.
The concept is that there are 4 or 5 very grand villas, the rooms are in the villas and each villa has a communal living room, dining room and hallway. It is all very luxurious.
The food is ok, the steaks are not up to scratch, but the fish is fantastic.
You can see rabbits and guinea fowl roaming the gardens!
There is also the enjoyment of a heated pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Steve L,

Greetings from Collingham Gardens. Thank you for the nice description of our accommodation facilities. We have a new menu in place and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the future so that you may sample our new recipes.

PS: The rabbits and guinea fowl are roaming around vey happily.

Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was wondering what sort of a hotel it would turn out to be after a long flight from Singapore, and a long ride in the darkness from Nairobi airport. And it was a real pleasant surprise when I reached Collingham. Quaint, old world and far removed from a typical hotel. It was more like a home stay, with lovely villas overlooking a garden and a farm house. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraveenRamachandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Praveen Ramachandra

We are so glad that you were pleasantly surprised and that you enjoyed stay.


Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

In August, I spent three weeks at the Collingham on business, and I cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was. It is boutique-style rather than mass accommodation. The rooms are lovely and clean, and the grounds are absolutely spectacular. The food is gourmet and some of the best I've had anywhere in the world. The gym is small, but adequate. The staff and management are professional and quality people. I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerw0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Travelerw0rk,

We really appreciate your very nice comment.
Karibu tena (Kiswahili for "Welcome again")

Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a quiet well maintained property and the service is truly amazing. I arrived just before midnight and the kitchen crew knew I was coming and waited to take my order for dinner. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The food is limited in selection but I found it very good. Most importantly, I felt very secure which is an important consideration in the context of Kenya.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaTabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Baba Tabo,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We have looked into our food selection and the chef has lovely specials every week. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.


Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Collingham is located in Karen suburb in Nairobi, in a very exclusive location, they have marvellous rooms and their sports bar is just out of this world, their one honeymoon suite is recommended for those who would luv to have their honeymoon in Nairobi, also a good town hotel for guys visiting Kenya for safari's, they have a heated pool, a gym, a specialised salon and oftenly host karaoke by their bar......

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor onward are really good as compared to the ground floor rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Perminus

We appreciate your lovely comments. It has been quite a while since you were here so I hope we can host you again soon.

Karibu!

Regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#124 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rudi
Hotel Rudi
#35 of 226 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hope Guest Hotel
Hope Guest Hotel
#52 of 185 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#28 of 226 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingham Gardens Residence & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Gardens Residence & Club

Property: Collingham Gardens Residence & Club
Address: Masai West Road | Box 249, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An executive and exclusive residence in the suburbs of Karen, where guests experience exceptional care and genuine hospitality. A boutique hotel whose elegance captures the refined qualities that are at the heart of a stylish home. 10 Minutes from Karen Country Club which is the venue for the 2015 Kenya Open Golf tournament ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Collingham Gardens Residence & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing