We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average food”
Review of La Mesa Espanola

La Mesa Espanola
Ranked #482 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Mesa Espanola offers Spanish cuisine experience with a Kenyan touch.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food is average. The outside seating was good, indoors not so much. The wine was also quite good. It was my first time to have paella and i was soo disappointed. I think they should stick to tapas and bar service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kerubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Looking for Spanish delicacies? Better go Mexican instead”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a nightmare! I had heard that the restaurant had reasonable food, but didn’t expect it to be so disappointing. We ordered tapas and wine. We were gently greeted with bites of tortillas upon arrival. Unfortunately, they were tasteless, and topped with mayonnaise. Thereafter, we had mushroom and ham croquettes, gazpacho, and caramelized cheese. The lentils soup was not available. The mushroom croquettes were really good, but the rest was disappointing. The ham croquettes had no taste, and perhaps no ham. The gazpacho was a tasteless red liquid, which we requested to be replaced. Instead, we were served a testy and consistent potato soup. We started drinks with a glass of Tio Pepe, which was not served chilled enough. Most wines listed in the menu were not available, and we ordered an average Spanish red wine. The friendly waiters tried to make up for our disappointment with complimentary room temperature Tio Pepes, which we “appreciated”. But the friendliness of staff will not be sufficient incentive to return. What a shame!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bacuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The restaurant looked deserted with the waiter having no clue what the menu entailed. The food was undercooked accompanied with some fish that looked like and tasted like it had stayed frozen for too long. We complained to the owner/manager who was very rude and insisted that there was a probability that we had never tasted Spanish cuisine. That was the last straw and I vowed to spread the word about this horrible restaurant that lacks customer care. We settled our bill which was overpriced and not justified at all as we had hardly touched the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went on a Tuesday night, there were two other tables only - the place is very basic in décor and lacks atmosphere.
We asked to see the wine menu and the waiter explained they had a shortage of wine and brought the 4 bottles available. We asked for Sangria and were told it was not available as the wine used for this was not available!
The waiter tried his best but was obviously not trained properly.
The tapas are exceptionally small and not that good! Prawns were average and the goats cheese was a very small slice of goats cheese on bread with an awful lot of onions! The cold meats were nice.
2 of our party ordered the steak, they were not asked how they would like it cooked, seems it just arrives as the chef chooses. The other dish ordered was the beef escalope which was battered, the meat was very tough and the batter soft and tasteless.
All main courses arrived cold so we sent them back and the same plates arrived back a few minutes later with the food slightly warm but as the plates were cold meant that within a short time the food was cold.
For what we received I found the bill very overpriced even by Nairobi standards - there are many restaurants in Nairobi where you would pay the same for an excellent meal.
I will not be going back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LMurray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not authentic at all”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food is not authentic at all. We ordered chorizo with lentils and chorizo with potatoes and in both cases, there was no chorizo! They also tried to charge us for delivery within Westlands (actually just down the street) despite advertising free delivery in this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnHonestReviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mesa Espanola also viewed

 

Been to La Mesa Espanola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing