We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very comfortable boutique hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 220 Nairobi B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very comfortable boutique hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my three nights at Cold Springs Karen. First off, the staff is amazing. Super friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and happy. They really catered to me.

The grounds are beautiful and private. The pool was super clean and very inviting even though I didn't have the opportunity to use it.

The room was huge! The bed was really comfortable and you had plenty of space to stretch out. I can honestly say that the food I ate at the restaurant was fantastic! I was there in low season so I was basically the only one at the restaurant and the chef made me delicious breakfasts and dinners. He went out of his way to prepare my breakfast way early because I had to travel to downtown Nairobi very early in the mornings. Given the location (more on that below) of the hotel, I was really happy to find that the food was so delicious and the restaurant so relaxing.

As for the location .... well, if you are heading to downtown Nairobi this hotel will be a challenge for you. The reason I stayed here was that we were supposed to hold a workshop in the area but it was shifted at last minute to downtown. This hotel is VERY far traffic wise from downtown. For an 8am meeting you need to get out the door at 5:30-6:00am.

So I probably won't stay at this hotel again, but it was a fantastic stay and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a totally relaxing and private stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebibond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Cold Springs - Karen Boutique Hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you. We do hope to extend our warm hospitality to you again should you have any business in the Karen area in future.

We value your feedback and shall share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and even though we now live in Kenya we bring our friends and business meeting there. Why? Grace & her staff are so friendly, they just respond to any request with ease & grace.

Room Tip: We have had Room 9 both times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorWEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
It was a real pleasure to have hosted you again. The management and staff feel honored to have had the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you and your friends. Now that you are based in Kenya, please consider Cold Springs - Karen Boutique Hotel as your second home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

1. 7 Star standard @ 3 star tariff in Nairobi
2. Very hygiene, spacious room, secured place, all amenities available
3. Absolute privacy, calm place
4. Amazing staffs,friendly chef and customized food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Krishnakumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for the positive comments.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were a group of 6 on safari and stayed 2 times 2 nights in this oasis and enjoyed the food and good service tremendously. It's ideally placed in the Karen area and In short - you'll not regret a stay at this gorgeous place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Svend Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
The Management Staff of Cold Springs - Karen Boutique wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We hope to get another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was there for business trip, although it's alittle far from the City, the hotel was amazing, With only 9 rooms, the hotel build with beautiful landscape and each room have it own theme. You can walk around in the morning looking the greenery and landscape - extremely beautiful. Room is clean, cozy and beautiful with all the wood furniture. The staff is helpful and always greet you with a smile. The restaurant food although alittle expensive but it's worthy , everything prepare fresh by the Chef.

Many Thanks to Grace, Duncan, Core and the rest of the team for the good work.

Room Tip: All room facing green :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvinfcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We hope to get another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend our wedding night in Karen close to where our wedding and evening party was being held instead of driving to another location. We had a horrible experience at the initial place we were supposed to spend then night so our genius wedding planner got this place and we are so glad we got the opportunity to spend our wedding night at Karen Boutique Hotel. I had the most refreshing experience with staff who were friendly, helpful, always smiling and much more. The rooms were super clean, spacious and comfortable. I had to keep reminding myself I am in Nairobi knowing how chaotic it can get. I was very pleased with the service and the beautiful gardens this place has to offer. If you are looking for a getaway place within Nairobi...look no further....I would visit this place over and over again. The manager Grace was so helpful and Nicholas the mixologist made sure we got everything we needed and made my husband and I nice cocktail drinks before we exited. Another interesting thing I noticed is that the owners of the boutique made frequent visits to the hotel and ensured the visitors enjoyed their stay which was really nice. I appreciated your service and I hope you keep your standards the same something that is really lacking in many businesses in Nairobi. The staff was AWESOME...I will be back and would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a cozy, quiet and refreshing place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite but any room should be great since the house is located in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are happy to have had the opportunity to host you. The Management and Staff wold like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. We hope to get another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful and stress free stay at the Cold Springs Hotel. It really was a home away from home. Small boutique style hotel leads itself to very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were of good size and cleanliness was great.
The food both for breakfast and dinner was exceptional.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is working or visiting the area of Karen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S, MD at Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to get another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel

Property: Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Address: Marula Lane, off Karen Road | P.O. Box 19684, Nairobi 00202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cold Springs Hotel – Karen is a 9 bedroom property. The hotel offers a unique blend of comfort and relaxation. Set in 1 acre of lush green gardens, it’s a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city center. The hotel is located approximately 30 km from the airport and approximately 20km from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing