We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, fantastic atmosphere, amazing value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of About Thyme

About Thyme
Corner of Peponi Road and Eldama Ravine Road | Westlands, Nairobi 14150 - 00800, Kenya
254721850026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer indoor and outdoor dining. Outdoor dining options are aplenty, either on our terrace or 'Down Thyme' garden. If the weather is a bit chilly we offer jikos to warm you up, or dine inside next to our cosy fireplace.
nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fantastic atmosphere, amazing value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Tucked in a little corner in Westlands, Nairobi, About Thyme is a wonderful place for an intimate meal, especially dinner.
I found the restaurant decorated with some fairy lights that gave the place the place a great romantic ambiance.

The service was average for dinner with a little bit of a wait for the appetizer. It was also mojito night and which was a pleasant surprise.
The food was cooked really well although i found the sticky orange chicken too bitter for my taste. The oysters and tuna that my wife had were perfect though

Only negative thing i found was the mosquitos. Ther perils of eating outside i suppose.

The prices charged were very fair and the staff waiting were really enthusiastic and happy to help.
I would strongly recommend this restaurant for dinner. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rienye n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went with friends as it was mojito night (buy one get one free...or the first free...I can't remember. I think there is a deal one night each week). Atmosphere is romantic and lovely. Food was carefully prepared and nicely presented. I had borscht which was a bit disappointing (but I am a borscht snob -- my companions loved it) and then a fantastic risotto. Desserts got good reviews as well. All in all, a perfect place for a special evening out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good convienient place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Given the traffic situation in Westlands we ventured back to About Thyme after a few years recently.

We were pleasantly surprised with quality of food upon your return. Maybe the menu has changed over the years but it was a great lunch; also the kids enjoyed themselves alot.

The only downside was that the waiter that we had was a new member of staff and not very versed in the menu and procedures, but none the less it was a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SakibSheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent, make sure you go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friend took me to About Thyme – I recognized the name of the restaurant – it was listed in the hotel brochure. I did not know what to expect and it was great. The restaurant is an old renovated house with a European flair and a menu that offered descriptive and interesting options – international cuisine. My friend recommended the red snapper and it was by far the best fish that I have ever had! The grilled vegetables accompanying the fish formed a perfect combination. We did not stay for desert, but the Kenyan coffee offered a great end to a lovely meal. The restaurant offered us intimate and special dining and I definitely recommend it.
Sit outside and definitely try the red snapper!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Brunch was wonderful, it was not as crowded as expected which was nice. They have tasty crepes and waffles. The only think was it looked dark, since even the outside seating area was also covered and probably because of the furniture choice. Around 1pm restaurant started to get crowded, so if you are a late eater you better make a reservation, otherwise it may be hard to find a table.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed About Thyme also viewed

 

Been to About Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing