We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to get your cholesterol”
Review of McFrys

McFrys
Ranked #306 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good place to get your cholesterol”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The big debate among the locals is whether the fat-fried chicken is better at KenChic INN or at McFrys - I prefer McFrys, maybe because it's a few shillings cheaper, or their fries seem crispier, but the most important thing is to have copious quantities of beer to go with the meal to cut the grease.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Those fries...”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

...whatever you do to taste so good. Keep it up and the chicken....oh well its just toooo good and of course I keep coming back for more

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jemutai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chips”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Found the range of chips really good, such as poussin, garlic, and pilli pilli chips. Also the paneer chappati is the best i have tried anywhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A simple but good fast food outlet”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are a fan of chips, fried chicken and fish and want to do a quick meal, then McFrys is a good deal. There is no formal dining or cutlery.
Chips, chicken or any other food is served on plain white papers. There are chilly sauce bottles (which were mineral water bottles. And same goes with vinegar and salt) on the tables.
You pay at the counter, go to the serving area, they take your receipt, give you your food (if it is take away they will pack it in a paper bag alongside small sachets of vinegar, salt and chilly sauce) and you pick your spot to sit and dig in to your food.
Compared to other fast foods in nbi, I like these guys cause their chips are well cooked (if you want it crispy and dry make sure you tell them when they take your order slip).
All in all a simple but good outlet for those who want a meal on the quicker side. Of course being a fast food they are much cheaper and the portions are not too bad either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food Restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I rarely eat junk food, but once in a while I give in to my cravings. McFrys is a regular fish and chips joint and the reason I would not go anywhere else is because they are clean, the food is made right there and then (no re-fries), and the price is soooo reasonable. They are open until late and so if you are a person that enjoys going out at night and feel like a quick meal before heading home then this is your place. I normally go to the one in Parklands and the new one in Gigiri. Their fries are yummy and so are the sausages and chicken. You can't go wrong with McFrys!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFrys also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to McFrys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing