We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple but good fast food outlet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McFrys

McFrys
Ranked #276 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Fast Food, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A simple but good fast food outlet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are a fan of chips, fried chicken and fish and want to do a quick meal, then McFrys is a good deal. There is no formal dining or cutlery.
Chips, chicken or any other food is served on plain white papers. There are chilly sauce bottles (which were mineral water bottles. And same goes with vinegar and salt) on the tables.
You pay at the counter, go to the serving area, they take your receipt, give you your food (if it is take away they will pack it in a paper bag alongside small sachets of vinegar, salt and chilly sauce) and you pick your spot to sit and dig in to your food.
Compared to other fast foods in nbi, I like these guys cause their chips are well cooked (if you want it crispy and dry make sure you tell them when they take your order slip).
All in all a simple but good outlet for those who want a meal on the quicker side. Of course being a fast food they are much cheaper and the portions are not too bad either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I rarely eat junk food, but once in a while I give in to my cravings. McFrys is a regular fish and chips joint and the reason I would not go anywhere else is because they are clean, the food is made right there and then (no re-fries), and the price is soooo reasonable. They are open until late and so if you are a person that enjoys going out at night and feel like a quick meal before heading home then this is your place. I normally go to the one in Parklands and the new one in Gigiri. Their fries are yummy and so are the sausages and chicken. You can't go wrong with McFrys!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the chicken and fries from there. It was edible but not how i like my fried chicken. It seemed clean but I never actually ate there, always did take-away

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank phisigchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome chicken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

McFrys is a chain that you will find all over Nairobi.
The restaurants themselves are a little grubby and you pay for the food as soon as you walk in but it's worth all the hassle for the chicken and chips!
A quarter chicken with chips that have been freshly fried in hot oil are possibly the most delicious thing I have ever eaten! The chips are just potatoes; not treated with phosphates to get a crispy shell. They are buttery & sweet whilst the chicken is hot perfectly cooked. You will find lots of locals in the restaurants and they also do the food to take-away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFrys also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to McFrys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing