We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Ethiopian in Nairobi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Ranked #15 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Tarpon Springs, Fl
Level Contributor
234 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a group of more than 10 and we were about half an hour late due to traffic yet they held our table.
The food and coffee was delicious.
Our June 2013 visit was our second trip to Abyssinia.
The wait staff took excellent care of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeredithandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only downside is that the help that they provide you whilst ordering is maybe not as good as one of the more popular places. However this won't phase anyone who has ordered Ethiopian food before, and certainly shouldn't put you off. This place is truly excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peetkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average tasting dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I went to try this restaurant because of the good reviews I saw here in TripAdvisor. I was a little disappointed with what I actually experienced. The only good thing I had was the coffee. Everything else fell short in terms of flavor and heat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaFemmeEnNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I don't have much to add that has not already been said. I went with a group of 8 people and we all enjoyed the food. Great variety, really good injera bread, nice outdoor garden setting. This is the third Ethiopian restaurant I've visited in Nairobi and is hands-down the best.

As noted by a previous reviewer, it can be a bit difficult to get a menu for everybody but this seems to be a common thing in Kenya - one or two menus per table even if there is a large stack of menus sitting right there.

One downside that is common to all Ethiopian restaurants I've been to in Nairobi - if you plan to leave soon after eating you better ask for the bill right after they bring the food. It's hard to imagine how it could take so long to get a bill when there was only one other table with customers. But that's just part of the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went a couple of times at this fantastic restaurant. True experience with very nice food. Very clean with nice fireplace inside. Friendly and efficient service. Nive and vaste selection of food. Not to be missed: the spicy raw meat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing