We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good taste”
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Ranked #14 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“good taste”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our third Ethiopian eating experience and it was delicious! I loved the flat breads and definitely want to return for more dishes. The waiter explained the dishes to us and helped us choose what to have. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 713gregt713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    63
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were there with our teenager children and it was our first experience with an Ethiopian restaurant, a really great interesting experience. The service was very friendly and helpful.
We ordered under suggestion a combination meal for 4-5 people and we shared a lovely variety of foods served on large shared tray to eat with the Ethiopian bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian Food in Nairobi”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best Ethiopian food I've ever eaten in Nairobi, and as good as any Ethiopian food that I've ever eaten anywhere else. The food was mouth watering delicious. I can't wait to go back. The restaurant may lack a great atmosphere but it was impeccably clean. The menu was very extensive. The service was very friendly and polite, but somewhat slow. It's a great place to take a date because you sit low to the ground and it's very comfortable. As I said I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ethiopian cuisine doesn't come better than this...except in Ethiopia”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Amazing array of Ethiopian delicacies, friendly service, fair prices. A bit slow delivering the fruit juice for the 3 year old in tow, otherwise perfect!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADTLilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great first experience with Ethiopian food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Eating Ethiopian food for the first time was such a treat at Abyssinia. I'm glad I wasn't deterred by the "slightly out of the way" location. We arrived to the open air style restaurant (maybe a little chilly in the later evening of winter months) and immediately received warm, helpful service. The three of us ordered a combination meal and were thrilled as we shared a lovely variety of foods served on large shared tray of injera bread. We couldn't finish all of it because the portions were plenty generous, even though the menu stated it was for 2-3 people. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing