We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Ranked #16 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited midweek and the restaurant was surprisingly very busy. The decor is very basic and the food is extremely good value. We all shared the combination menu which was a selection of meat and vegetable dishes served on one large plate and accompanied with injera bread. We ate with our hands and without plates, a great experience. The service was not great but the manager / owner was there to help and give advice. We ended the meal with some great Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

OK, it was nice. The decor a bit tired in places. The service was lower key than most Nairobi establishments (where you feel four pairs of eyes watching every mouthfull), so that is a big positive. When you actually needed something it wasn't hard to find someone who would deliver quickly. We had the Manuel of waiters, who, when we asked for menus, took the menu from my friend and handed it to me. Tried to explain it would be nice to have one each (there was a big pile on a desk). But after initial hiccups, food was delivered with a flourish fit for the occasion... and tasted OK. (I'm just not a fan of Ethiopian food, but the people I ate with were able to finish everything and mop up with their bread. they said it was great food, but other places around are more generous with portions)
The clientèle was very much ex pat.
Location is quiet, all seemed well run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pumbavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been to Abyssinia a number of times and keep going back. It's one of our favourite restaurants in Nairobi. The food is delicious, the service is good and it's good value for money. We always sit in the garden area which is really relaxed and we try to go with a group so that we can order a large share plates (at the back of the menu) and try a bit of everything. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“stunningly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of our local expat friends turned us on to Abyssinia and we couldn't have been happier. Tucked away in a quiet shady grove near Muguga Green, it's a delightful little world of its own, with excellent food, great service and the lovely smell of frankincense wafting through the air. Best of all, it's outstanding value for money. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awaferthinmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing