We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enchanting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Quite a view from the rooftop restaurant/bar on the 7th floor.A bit pricy but well worth it.My ideal spot for a cool evening when i want to relax and get my thoughts straight.Best Western Premier Nairobi is in a class of its own.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blacktraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a description of your experience of our roof top Mezze Restaurant and Ciroc Lounge! Yes, it is indeed enchanting and we appreciate the fact that you have taken your time to share this witht the online world.
Thank you for visiting us and we are glad you have indicated you will be back to refresh yourself.
You are always welcome for this good experience.

Thank you and best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    156
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
29
46
25
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent couple of nights at Best Western Nairobi during February 2014 between our safari tours and beach holidays. We choose this hotel due to the closeness to the city center and guaranteed quality and the hotel met our expectations.

The hotel is situated outside the main city center – which keeps you away from the city noise but it’s still close to get there quickly. The hotel has also a nice view from the rooftop. There is a swimming pool situated and you may spent lazy afternoon with some local beer or some fancy drink in the hand during taking a rest.

The rooms were very nice, cozy and clean. The service was very helpful, always nice and well organized. The food in the restaurant was also very tasty and there were always a place to sit with no need to wait for a table. The other good thing is that the hotel had Wi-Fi in all guest rooms included in the price what is not so common in Nairobi.

Just two disadvantages occurred during our stay. One thing was the huge noise of some machines outside the room/building which could be heard on all 6th floor where we spent one of the night. We assumed that there could be the air-condition fans or some cooling system from the kitchen situated one floor above. We asked the personnel to check whether something could be done with it, but nobody could help us. The second thing was a loud music coming from the bar during the other night, but we were so exhausted after the safari that nothing could keep us from sleeping. The music stopped some after midnight.

Despite that I really recommend this hotel during your stay in Nairobi. This is really pleasant relax after energy consuming safaris!

Room Tip: Try to avoid sleeping at 6th floor because of the noise (mentioned in my review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Lady Agata,

Thanks for your online review about your stay with us. We appreciate the compliments and will share them with our members of staff.

The loud music from the roof top was stopped immmediately and appropriate action taken to ensure a repeat does not occur. Ever since we have not had a problem with the music.

The noise from the 6th floor was from the gym. Corrective action is being taken to ensure this is muked to guarantee good sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again in future.

Thank you.



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Comfortable, clean. Very good wifi. Nice bar & restaurant. Best thing was the staff - they were so helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Also convenient location. Best view from a gym that I have seen in ages.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for chosing to stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed every bit of your stay and took time to post your online review.
We shall pass the positive compliments to the staff to ensure they maintain the spirit of focusing on every guest need.

Please stay with us again when in Nairobi.

Thank you.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip and had mixed feelings about the hotel. The hotel itself is really lovely and new. The rooms and hotel were nicely decorated, very clean, and modern. Here's the good bad and ugly about the hotel:

The Good:
- Very clean and beautiful hotel
- Food was very good
- Gym was nice
- Workers were very friend and hospitable

The Bad:
- Really annoying to have to get my bags searched every time I came into the hotel. This might be standard hotel procedures for all hotels, but it was really annoying.
- Drinks were quite expensive
- The outdoor lounge and pool were on the top level of the hotel and it was so windy and cold each night that I couldn't even sit out there. It was a waste of a nice space.

The Ugly:
- The shower would go very hot and very cold throughout the shower. I don't understand why this should be happening. It needs fixed.
- I specifically asked if my room had good and constant internet access (it was good in the restaurant and lobby) and they said yes, but it was almost non-existent in my room. My laptop could barely pick it up and it would go in and out, and my phone and iPad couldn't pick it up at all. I asked to be moved to a different room and they said they were completely full (I find that unlikely). This is the main reason I wouldn't stay here again.
- The roof bar was so loud that I could hear it on my second floor room. It was on the 7th floor so its incredible to me that it would be that loud. It kept me up multiple nights. Another reason why I wouldn't stay here again.

Overall this hotel is a case of a place that could really fantastic but falls short in so many areas. Kenya has some nice hotels and it shouldn't deal with the issues that it does. I'm staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on TripAdvisor among many other online review sites.

We once again apologise for the shortcomings you experienced durin your stay with us. As we indicated to you earlier, corrective action was taken in all the areas you pointed out. We again invite you to come and stay with us to experience the improvements your comments have made.

The water in the showers have been fixed, the internet access is perfect and the loud music at the roof top bar stopped.
Due to our strict security procedures we ensure, as a standard, that all luggage brought in is searched. Most guests understand and appreciate this measure and we hope you will in your next visit.
The beverage prices in our roof top bar are slightly higher than on those at Pablos restaurant. So a guest has a choice depending on what ambience he is after. The roof top lounge area has heaters that keep guests warm as they admire the view of Nairobi from that vantage point. Please visit it again and confirm this.

Thank you very much.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Premier for three nights and we were impressed. The building is very new and modern, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. In addition, there is a restaurant (Pablo's) and a bar (Level). The food is pretty good but the alcoholic beverages are overpriced at the bar compared to other hotels and locations in Nairobi. There was really only two minor issues during our stay. This included the hot water; which would fluctuate from very hot to very cold every 30 seconds or so. In addition, on Friday night the music from up-top was very loud and was problematic for sleeping (however, they did turn it off). The sleep quality is pretty good, the beds are comfortable and the rooms have air conditioning. There is also good wifi, something I struggle to find in Kenya. The rates also include breakfast at the restaurant and it's pretty good. The rates are fairly priced, about 160 USD per night. In total, the Best Western Premier was an enjoyable stay and I would stay there again if in Nairobi. Also, Hurlingham is a convenient location because it's outside of the hectic Nairobi city center but not incredibly far away from things (airport, Karen, downtown, etc...).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and following it up with your online review. We are delighted you did enjoy your stay despite the issues you raised about the hot water as well as the loud music. Both cases were sorted on the same weekend you stayed with us and we no longer have the same issues.

Yes, we have very good wifi and a pretty good and convenient location too.

We shall share your compliments with our members of staff.

Please stay with us again as you have promised.

Thank you.

Kind regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I am blown away by the problems I encountered with this hotel.

1) The room's shower switches between scalding hot and cold every 3 seconds. Ridiculous for a hotel in this category.
2) The internet in my room was terrible. I could not get any work done. The hotel's WiFi repeaters clearly do not reach rooms on the outside edge of the building.
3) Insanely loud bar noise. I could not sleep both nights (Fri and Sat) because the rooftop bar was blasting house music past midnight. The rooftop bar is on the 7th floor, and my room was on the 2nd - so you can see how loud it had to be to feel it all the way near the ground.

To be fair, the hotel staff was very nice and courteous, but clearly had their hands tied with the above issues because of poor decisions made by the management.

I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review online regarding your experience at our property last weekend.

We also received your handwritten complaints to the hotel's General Manager and sent you a private email regarding the same.

The Valentine weekend was louder than normal at our property and we apologised for this as we always aim at providing quality sleep to all our guests. This surely was a one off situation which will not recur in future given the steps the management has taken.

We also apologise for the problem you had with wifi. Our repeaters are all over the hotel. The case you have reported was an isolated case which we could have resolved if it was brought to our attention. We suspect it could have been another problem not related to the repeaters as we have not received any other complaint from any other guest.

Yes, we had a hot water problem on the night you stayed with us and this was resolved immediately.

We appreciate the positive comments you have about the members of staff. This has already been passed on to them.

Kindly accept the invitation we sent you earlier as we strongly believe you will get a completely different picture of our property. When you visit please get in touh with the management.

Thank you.

Kind regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and new which is all I usually ask from a hotel. However, there is a strange water issue in the shower - the temperature randomly cycles from way too hot to too cold every 30-60 seconds no matter what temperature you've set the nozzle. That is all bearable, but WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE ON A THURSDAY, FRIDAY OR SATURDAY NIGHT if you want to get sleep. The walls are thin and the noise from the rooftop dance club is LOUD in the rooms - I was unable to sleep before my early flight on Friday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fermanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. The water issue you have mentioned is an isolated case that only affected the room you used. It has however been sorted out.
We apologise for the noise from our rooftop lounge that denied you valuable sleep this last weekend. We have already set acceptable limits on the volume of music in this lounge and we do not expect a repeat of the problem you underwent.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier Nairobi is located in the suburb of Hurlingham within 10 minutes drive from Nairobi central and 20 km from the Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel features a swimming pool, restaurant and a gym.Each air-conditioned room offers a view of the city and comes equipped with a satellite TV, minibar and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. The private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.The restaurant at Premier Nairobi serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A number of restaurants serving a range of local and international cuisines can be found within 2 km.For relaxation, guests can lounge beside the heated pool or enjoy a round of golf at the Royal Nairobi Golf Club, 3.2 km away.Free Wi-Fi and private parking is available and a business centre including secretarial services is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing