We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Premier Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Premier Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Needs improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and new which is all I usually ask from a hotel. However, there is a strange water issue in the shower - the temperature randomly cycles from way too hot to too cold every 30-60 seconds no matter what temperature you've set the nozzle. That is all bearable, but WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE ON A THURSDAY, FRIDAY OR SATURDAY NIGHT if you want to get sleep. The walls are thin and the noise from the rooftop dance club is LOUD in the rooms - I was unable to sleep before my early flight on Friday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fermanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. The water issue you have mentioned is an isolated case that only affected the room you used. It has however been sorted out.
We apologise for the noise from our rooftop lounge that denied you valuable sleep this last weekend. We have already set acceptable limits on the volume of music in this lounge and we do not expect a repeat of the problem you underwent.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    165
    32
    22
    17
See reviews for
32
47
27
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

New, modern, clean, comfortable beds, stylish rooms, roof top pool and desk and bar/restaurant, well equipped gym on top floor as well.  Two computers and printer in lobby, terrace and restaurant on main floor, buffet breakfast was included although not specified on our booking, Eggs to order, hot and cold items, coffee, tea, juice, pastries.

Check out smooth and accurate.

The hotel arranged taxi to and from the airport ($30 ea way) and to the Sheldrick baby elephants orphanage and then drop off downtown ($40, the driver waits for you at the elephants). Taxi could bill to the room and settled with a VISA.

Room Tip: Give yourself way more time that you would expect to get to the airport. We almost missed checking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review online. We appreciate all the compliments.
We do encourage our guests to leave early for the airport to ensure they have enough time to go through the security checks.
Please stay with us again in future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Best Western was an ideal place for a business traveller. Free wifi in the room, early opening for breakfast, laundry services and at a great price. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the airport but the rooftop restaurant makes for a very enjoyable dinner setting.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you appreciated our property as well as services. Yes, we indeed are very ideal for the business traveller.
Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world. Please visit us again when you plan for a stay in Nairobi.

Thank you and kind regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Did not stay in the hotel as a guest but tried to Join Pablo for lunch on a Sunday. Shocking experience, no at the door, walk by the front desk with out any greeting or what so ever. Waited in front Pablo's for several minutes yet no acknowledgement eventhough there were diners on the terrace. As our presence was clearly not appreciated we left shorly after. On the way out the same thing, no one looked at us nor acknowledged us. All the above is with the exception of the Security Service, but they are an outside company ?!

On a brief note about the hotel - it looks nice, clean modern - but the nicest hotel any good to you without service.

Will try it agian one day, perhaps it was a one off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise for the poor service you experienced at our property on the Sunday you visited for lunch.
Thank you very much for the review as it clearly points to an area we have to work on as this is certainly not our standard of operation. All concerned have been notified and we do not expect a repeat of the same.
Thank you once more and please feel free to visit again to confirm this has been effected.

Thank you.


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a beautiful, business-class hotel up to the standards of any major city. The room and bath were clean and modern, although this may be the firmest mattress I have ever slept on. There was a stocked bar and refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV and room safe. A full breakfast was included. In addition to a very good restaurant in the lobby, with a lovely outdoor patio, there is a snack bar on the roof deck, near the pool. The gym was also quite nice, and the staff extremely helpful. Although I don’t know anything about the neighborhood, or how well-located the hotel is since I was only in transit, I can say it does have good security, with a perimeter fence and guards checking any car that enters the premises. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with the online world your experience in our property.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. And yes, we take the security of all our guests very seriously to ensure they enjoy their stay.
Please stay with us again in future and recommend us to your associates as well.

Thank you.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I originally visited this pristine hotel in April last year, at that time it had just opened its doors and my host insisted I should stay there. Considering my previous stay in the Best Western in Dar es salaam in January 2012 I took up his advice.

I stayed for three nights and I was impressed by the rooms and the general attention to detail.

The food and the staff were really great thus I couldn't resist a visit to the hotel for a drink with a business associate.

The staff recognised me from last year at the restaurant downstairs and greeted me warmly.I chose to sample the roof top bar which on my first visit was still under construction.

The Rooftop is beautiful, the service was great and the warm lanterns were a real treat considering the chilly Nairobi weather. We were even offered blankets to further protect us from the chilly weather.

I will definitely be back !

David

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Davidpjkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear David,

We are delighted you visited us again after your first visit in April 2013. It is indeed pleasant to note that you enjoyed your second visit.
Please visit us again.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were at this hotel for one night pre safari. They arranged our ground transfer from the airport and despite a lengthy time in getting through immigration our driver was waiting for us at about 10:00 pm. No issues at all and upon arrival the hotel was perfect. Clean, up to date and a good buffet breakfast. They also made a few phone calls for us (no charge) to change our pick up time in the morning.

Arriving late at night it was also to have 24 hour room service available as we were able to have a very late dinner. Since it was so late when we arrived I can't really comment on the location except that it was about a 20 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medic_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsonA184, Rooms Division Manager at City Premier Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with the online world.
We are glad you left happy as you found our services seamless.

Please stay with us again in your next visit to Nairobi.

Thank you.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Amber Hotel
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#17 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Premier Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Premier Hotel Nairobi

Property: City Premier Hotel Nairobi
Address: Argwings Kodhek Road | Hurlingham, Nairobi 00606, Kenya (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Premier Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Premier Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing