We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the Red Snapper!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Que Pasa

Que Pasa
Ranked #73 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Que Pasa is a vibrant Bar & Bistro right in the heart of Karen, offering a gorgeous selection of spirits and an excellent menu from breakfast through lunch and dinner. Don't forget to check our Que Pasa Kenya Facebook page for any upcoming events, exhibitions, performances.. Welcome!
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Love the Red Snapper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I loved the red snapper. Well spiced and garnished. Also enjoyed the Coconut Thai Chicken i had the second time round. But the red snapper takes the prize.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuePasaKaren, General Manager at Que Pasa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much Angie for your amazing review, it is always such a great pleasure to host you. We promise to work even harder to make all your visits even more memorable and the food more lovable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“getting worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

is it jt me or is everything going haywire at QUEPASA?/first it was the food the Morendat bee started out perfectly then it turned into a nightmare,then it was the service even when they are not busy you still get disappointed,and they always blame it on we ran out of glasses do they ran out of change too?am getting pretty tired of having to wait for my change for 25 minutes and the excuse i was given the cashier is new,get qualified people damn it,the only thing i look forward to are your pizzas the best around Karen but i don't know how much longer i can put up with bad service,incorrect bills which are always on the higher side but when you complain the bill reduces,guys youre running our favourite joint to the ground,do something ,and your music too is pathetic what happened?very soon we will just be picking takeaway pizzas and dining some place else,we complained so much but the management seemed less concerned ,we love this joint ,its accomodative,fine dining,bar scene,night out,but were slowly looking for others places where we can get better services,good food and chilled wine

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuePasaKaren, General Manager at Que Pasa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hallo Kristine thank you so much for your review, we are really sorry for the bad experience you had at Que Pasa and we will work on all the issues you have highlighted and make your favorite joint even better than it was before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
1 review
“Terrible food at Que Pasa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Last night we visited Que Pasa, the Mince Meat that was served was at first too salty. Upon complaining, the hostess C. with her manager graciously accepted to give me another substitute dish of 'raw' meatballs!!! upon complaining again, we were informed that in fact that meal is being 'phased' out...so my question is, why serve a guest something you know your cooks are not good at preparing for your guests??? Needless to say I was very disappointed and would not return to Que Pasa nor send anyone there. The other meal of fish and chips was well done. Que Pasa offered us a pizza on the house and also worth noting is that we didn't pay for my raw meal!

However, i fear that the staff may be charged for this mishap! because as we departed the restaurant, the gracious hostess C was not too happy, one could easily tell that the manager lady had given them a dressing down!!! Sad...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuePasaKaren, General Manager at Que Pasa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We're certainly sorry to hear you were disappointed, as we're very proud of our kitchen team, who are working to use the best local, fresh ingredients to produce meals that are well above average.

But We think it's only fair we get to tell our side of the story.

When you complained about the salty meatballs, we apologized and took them back to the kitchen.We replaced them and when the manager on duty and Calcina(waitress) came to your table and asked whether the food was okay...you said everything was fine.
Upon finishing your meal, you called the waitress and claimed that the food was uncooked and threatened not to pay the bill unless the meatballs were removed from your bill .

The duty manager apologized once more for the so called 'uncooked' meatballs, removed them from your bill and even offered you a complimentary pizza which you and your husband accepted. You said that everything was perfect.

Even the following day your husband came back for lunch.
So we suppose our food is not so terrible after all ??

We find your title 'Terrible food at Que Pasa' not very fair.

Your husband's food was perfect, our pizzas are the best in town and even when you were asked whether the meatballs were okay the second time you said all was well.

Once more we apologize for the salty meatballs that you were served the first time and we believe that our team did everything in their power to make you know how sorry they were and your paying them back with such a bad review is just not fair at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice MilkShake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Is nice place to hang out and full of expatriates (british above all). I believe I been there three times.. though I am gonna talk about the last time.

The truth is that I asked for a chocolate milkshake that it was right and the cocktail of my friend was also good, but we didnt like too much the service waiting to be attended, served and also to pay.. (it was just Tuesday I believe it was not really full of people).

Besides I don't know, it is not the kind of places itself that I can consider my favourites, can not explain why, but to be fair is not bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro Ezequiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuePasaKaren, General Manager at Que Pasa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much Pedro for your review we will work towards making Que Pasa your favorite joint not only in Karen but the rest of Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The nice place to for a drink with friends and have a meal. The choice goes from nice tapas to a very good steak prepared as you like. Pleasantly busy in a good and friendly atmosphere. Service good, management keen and supportive to the employees. So for a sunday or friday night to keep in mind on top of your list.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pekrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuePasaKaren, General Manager at Que Pasa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hallo Pekrul, thank you so much for your amazing review. It was really amazing to host you and we really look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Pasa also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Que Pasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing