We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great live music!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamambo Bar and Grill

Tamambo Bar and Grill
Ranked #150 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamambo Bar and Grill, is located on the upper level of the Village Market, Gigiri. It has a casual trendy atmosphere and is open from 11.00am for coffees, lunch and dinner. With its varied and interesting menu it is perfect for discerning global tastes, offering a delicious selection of light salads, and snacks as well as appetizing gourmet dishes. The outdoor terrace has an alfresco ambience whereas the indoor cocktail lounge has a more intimate feel reminiscent of a cosy jazz bar Tamambo has become a popular meeting place with the background music setting the overall mood. Regular live bands perform every Friday and Saturdays from 9pm featuring a diverse group of talented musicians.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great live music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Even though the food and drinks were not great, the ambiance and live music on Friday truly make the difference with other places. A great option to hang out with frinds on the weekend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juanepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

As others have mentioned, the Tamarind group has a pretty good reputation, but I was unimpressed by this place. First up, its not cheap - but putting that aside, the food was just awful! We had Kachos to start with - which were OK (then again, how wrong can you go with chips and guacamole), but a little stingy on the cheese and as a result the dish was quite dry. The grilled beef salad was just, well, awful - could not finish it, it was drowned in a dressing which was way too sour, and as a result everything was swimming on my plate. My colleague's samosas were stodgy, not light on the tongue and crunchy, the spare ribs were basically OK but nothing spectacular ... all in all, its just not what it should be, and what the PR leads you to believe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The usually excellent reputation of the Tamarind group was shattered in our minds by a surprisingly awful lunch. An earnest but inept waiter serviced us rubbery calamaris, reheated spareribs and a Swahili fish with a not-too-bad sauce over a chewy overcooked red snapper. Only the graciousness of the manager saved this review from being one star: after we explained our disappointment, he only charged for the (rather passable) house chenin blanc. Full marks to him for grace and aplomb. We just might try again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place and good finger food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I brought here a group of 15 people for work. It was a very pleasant evening, the restaurant is very nice as well as the staff. We got a set menu for 2250 KSH/pax and there was just so much food that I felt guilty for the amount of left-overs. The variety and quality were above average (although not stellar). The food is better at the Tamambo restaurant in Westlands, but it is true that this Tamambo does not claim to be a restaurant but more of a tapas-finger food bar, so it's fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cateecatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

nice place. coctails. ok food. and best sheesha!!!! realy good place to visit with a friends. sometimes live musik.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Bar and Grill, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Bar and Grill. We are happy you enjoy the atmosphere, sheesha and cocktails/

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged to improve every aspect.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing