We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO CROWDED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of For You Chinese Restaurant

For You Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TOO CROWDED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been to this restaurant thrice and every time it gets worse. Being an in door and outdoor restaurant i dont understand why there is never sitting space. Could the management budget on adding more sits and tables as it is frustrating standing and searching for somewhere to dine for 20 minutes before getting one. The food is okay depending on how busy they are..sometimes the quantity is huge, sometimes small...The cocktail juice is the best in town...I dont understand why there are no reservations on Sundays. It is an okay place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Siah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    58
    25
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“bad day for us!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Total disappointment...we went over to celebrate a birthday... at the entrance the watchman said parking is full go away..then we asked him if we could park in the open parking opposite the restaurant and he says that's your problem..do whatever you want... as we go in we make a special request at reception " please don't send a bill on our table as we have guests hence let me know when bill is ready i will come and clear here" ... THEY GAVE THE BILL TO THE GUEST...warm hand towels were picked up from the table almost 20 mins later... they brought some else's food on our table and serving drinks took ages..... No doubt they are a good pocket friendly restaurant and they do serve good meals....but i feel they cant handle big groups.. at the end when we ask for a discount .." the person in-charge is not there so we cant help you" the staff were not rude but they were not organized at all.. of all my lovely visits there ..i never thought celebrating a birthday there would turn out to be a terrible experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Miinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pocket Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the most pocket friendly Chinese restaurant I have been to in Nairobi. The location is in a tight corner and one may miss it but the bright red hangings make it easy to spot.

Children friendly with a lot of play toys around.

They seem to be in need of a few more waiters as they seemed overwhelmed. The service did not diminish however.

The rations are smaller than other Chinese restaurants in town. Perhaps the price difference manifests itself thus. Their sweet and sour pork is really nice. I didn't find the prawns good though

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food fit for the pocket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent Chinese food try their sweet and sour fish and chicken noodles. I love the way the owner checks up on everyone and they have plenty of space. There's limited parking inside however they have secure parking outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zohreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Families most popular Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

"For you" is a friendly Chinese restautant of permanent good quality. 25 visits without a single deception.
Great garden. Plenty of space. Very friendly waiters. A friendly lady boss that has an eye on everything. The kids adore it because they are specially taken care of. It is the place of all the birthday dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For You Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to For You Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing