We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Emerald
Ranked #45 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Coimbatore
1 review
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we visited Kenya on a business trip and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. we feel a comfortable stay, delicious Indian and Continental food, Good service and helpful reception staff. This property is located in the city centre, accessible to nearby shopping malls, restaurants & local market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subbaram J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My brothers wedding took place in Nairobi from 10th to 13th July. We put up all our guests at the emerald. We took up a total of 50 rooms. Very clean hotel, well maintained, compared to ones we saw of similar price range before booking. Hotel is situated on the 6th to 8th floor (last two floors) of a commercial building. There are a number of restaurants and clubs around the vicinity as well as two big malls. There is ample secure parking but a bit expensive. Never got a chance to taste food at their restaurant but the view form the restaurant is really nice overlooking the city.
We used one of the three big multi purpose halls for one of our functions. Really nice with a really good view.
Staff were quite helpful. We had minor issues in one or two of the rooms with the door key not working and the toilet being blocked in the other. Other than that rooms were really well maintained.
Being surrounded by night clubs, noise was a small issue. Though they have a wing which is less noisy.
Overall had a great time! Would definitely like to return for another wedding at the emerald.

Room Tip: Choose the less noisy wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

- Very Friendly and Welcoming Staff
- Newly Built Rooms
- Very Close to two Mega Malls
- Not too much variety for Breakfast but made-to-order dishes available on request.

- Very Busy and Noisy Surrounding. If staying on weekend, loud music from neighboring clubs/ pubs may play till late night
- Hotel on 6th Floor of a Commercial Complex

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagoSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague for about 1 week.
The hotel is nice and people managing are good. So much being advised about the security concerns in Nairobi the environment of the hotel and surrounding was really different of the stories and we felt quite secure.

Service was although quite slow; I guess the new established place was having teething problems.

The location of the hotel is something which is extremely good.

The hotel building (top 3 floors of a 8 storey building complex) is not very attractive as property compared to the prices.

Room Tip: Call & book; chances are there for getting a good deal depending on how much rush they are into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Marcellin-en-Forez, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed 6 nights for business.
The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs so it is REALLY NOISY !
I asked to change room but the insulation is poor everywhere in the hotel.
If you want to rest and sleep at night, do not go there !
However, the staff is nice and the rooms are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laetitiacintran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ms. Cintran:

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience at the hotel especially regarding the noise. I apologize that the staff did not try to move you to a more quiet room. I wish you had asked me, personally I would have ensured your satisfaction. Sometimes, the front area does get loud, especially during the weekends. Next time you are in Nairobi, please give me the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Sagar Dave
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped in Nairobi on they way back home from our Kenya trip. Checked-in at about 2:00 PM and checked out next morning after breakfast. Hotel was ok, and very clean because it is new. Great location - in the centre of the business district and in a relatively safer area of Nairobi ( as told to me by the porter), very very helpful staff. Bad point - Had to wait for an hour for food to come to that table for lunch and dinner, Good point - great food( we had Indian)

Overall, ok place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmay_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, General Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
Dear Mr Tanmay -das
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and specifically the food, but sorry for the delay . Please stay with us again in future. Thank you. Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nanchang Hotel
#67 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Progressive Park Hotel
#28 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Property: The Hotel Emerald
Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing