We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality and nice people to stay with” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Emerald
Ranked #47 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hospitality and nice people to stay with”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague for about 1 week.
The hotel is nice and people managing are good. So much being advised about the security concerns in Nairobi the environment of the hotel and surrounding was really different of the stories and we felt quite secure.

Service was although quite slow; I guess the new established place was having teething problems.

The location of the hotel is something which is extremely good.

The hotel building (top 3 floors of a 8 storey building complex) is not very attractive as property compared to the prices.

Room Tip: Call & book; chances are there for getting a good deal depending on how much rush they are into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Marcellin-en-Forez, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed 6 nights for business.
The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs so it is REALLY NOISY !
I asked to change room but the insulation is poor everywhere in the hotel.
If you want to rest and sleep at night, do not go there !
However, the staff is nice and the rooms are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laetitiacintran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ms. Cintran:

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sincerely sorry you had a bad experience at the hotel especially regarding the noise. I apologize that the staff did not try to move you to a more quiet room. I wish you had asked me, personally I would have ensured your satisfaction. Sometimes, the front area does get loud, especially during the weekends. Next time you are in Nairobi, please give me the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Sagar Dave
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped in Nairobi on they way back home from our Kenya trip. Checked-in at about 2:00 PM and checked out next morning after breakfast. Hotel was ok, and very clean because it is new. Great location - in the centre of the business district and in a relatively safer area of Nairobi ( as told to me by the porter), very very helpful staff. Bad point - Had to wait for an hour for food to come to that table for lunch and dinner, Good point - great food( we had Indian)

Overall, ok place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmay_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagar D, General Manager at The Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
Dear Mr Tanmay -das
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and specifically the food, but sorry for the delay . Please stay with us again in future. Thank you. Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nanchang Hotel
Nanchang Hotel
#54 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#27 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
0.3 mi away
Lotos Inn & Suites
Lotos Inn & Suites
#52 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Emerald

Property: The Hotel Emerald
Address: 12 Woodvale Grove | Krishna Centre Westlands, Nairobi 13839-00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emerald is a business class hotel located in the Westlands suburb of Nairobi. With 59 individually designed rooms, the Hotel Emerald offers comfort in a convenient location. Steps away from major shopping and entertainment hubs, the hotel is the ideal place for your next stay. The hotel also offers conference and meeting space for any special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing