We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic "Gastropub" in Karen.”
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
Ranked #22 of 583 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have been visiting this pub / restaurant since it opened. The grounds are marvelous with over 20 acres of beautiful mature trees to wander around in or let your kids play in. There are several other "shops" in the grounds including a salon a clothes shop and a wonderful nursery for plants etc. The bar itself is a local favourite (hence me being there) and is a great place to have a very cold beer and catch up on the latest gossip. The outdoor patio is a wonderful place to eat. The menu has changed a lot since I first ate there in that there is a greater range of food available and also the quality has improved. The food is good "pub food" with things like sausages and mash, pizzas, T bone steak and other classic pub dishes. BUT, there were several types of sausages available including spicy and non spicy lamb, turkey and cranberry and obviously pork. I think this gives the Purdy Arms the edge. Do not expect 5 star dining but this is a great place to relax in casual surroundings and enjoy tasty VFM food.
In our party of 4 (the last time we ate there) I had the spicy lamb sausages and mash, my wife had T bone steak and our friends from Voi had scampi and chips and some ribs. All of us loved the food and said we would definitely eat there again. I enjoy eating out a lot having just returned from a michelin star restaurant tour of London. This is not a fancy restaurant but does exactly what it is supposed to.Give it a go, you won't be disappointed. Incidentally there are 2 huge screens for live sport in the bar and I cannot think of a better place to visit in Nairobi for what it offers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bushpig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 258 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Average food, popular expat spot. Over crowded during the weekend with expats. Purdy Arms has a big green area, great for families with kids.

1  Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Manager at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Purdy Arms, Karen.

We agree it can get busy over the weekend which is why we advise people to reserve a table in advance. With 23 acres there is the opportunity for guests to sit in the bar, on the terrace or in the gardens and spread out as much as they would like. We do attract guests from all over Nairobi and beyond which is a very multicultural city.

It is a shame that you did not say what you had to eat as we would have shared it with the kitchen as we always strive to be excellent not just above average. We are always happy to receive feedback from guests and for this reason one of the owners is nearly always on site to respond in case there are any issues.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is just WOW!! Been there for systems setup and its just a wonderful place with wonderful staff and owners.. Had a lovely time there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank techamza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Come sit at the owners table in the evenings and get free beers! Great place! Select your songs on the duke box.. Don't know anywhere else that has this

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

As one of the few restaurants in the Karen / Langata area that is super for Children we collected the various cousins for a family lunch , service great but as in so many places in Nairobi food mediocre bordering on poor . The ' Ribs ' ( after overhearing the manager ) were definitely not '' Too die for '' , my first reaction was that they tasted of bacon , so much for the marinade , My partners ' Chicken Kiev ' looked like a big burnt scotch egg , and apparently it tasted ' Dry ' , more attention needs to be spent by management in the catering department otherwise you will 'slip behind ' like so many other examples

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you find the restaurant child friendly as this is one of the major reasons we took the trouble to open it up as one of the owners has two young children themselves, and they also found there were very few places in Karen / Langata that they could take them.

However, we are sorry that the food did not meet your or our expectations for our guests and friends. It is a shame that you did not point out the issues to the owner who you overheard, as we take customer feedback to heart and would have made every effort to rectify the issues immediately, This is why one of the owners is nearly always available on duty.

You will be pleased to note that we have made significant changes to the kitchen since December 2013 to accommodate the large number of visitors we are welcoming at the weekends.

We agree that this marinade does make the pork ribs have a taste of bacon, and have received positive feedback on this. However, following your review we are looking into offering an alternative range of marinades for the ribs, and indeed the kitchen has already started with trials of this.

Finally we also shared your review with all of our kitchen and senior staff over the weekend with regards to how disappointed you were. They all took this to heart and promised to redouble their efforts to produce consistency in the food. The Chicken Kiev is one of our best sellers, and should certainly have not tasted dry, and would not have become popular if it always did.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies that your experience was not what we hope and expect to provide our friends and guests, and rest assured that we continue to work night and day to try and attain the highest standards possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 
 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing