We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
Ranked #23 of 476 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Indian, Pizza, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well done to the management team for keeping such consistency. From the food to the ambiance. Also for coming up with new innovations on the menu. Great food great place to while away the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    86
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real pub with a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went after a long afternoon looking at a friend's new house so were in need of good grub for supper. Purdy Arms was just the right place for us and our friends.
As we entered the rugby match on the big screen was drawing to a close but we were shown to a table where we could continue our conversation and enjoy the pub food that is their speciality.
The bangers and mash had a variety of sausages to chose from. The fish and chips were excellent and the chicken Kiev moist and succulent. We all enjoyed what we had chosen.
The place has been around for a long time but is definitely worth a trip to Karen to experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worthy a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It a good place to spend your time with friends. The stuff are good and up to their toes to ensure you are well catered for. They got good furnished rooms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““In the cherry blossom's shade there's no such thing as a stranger.””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

There is an old japanese saying “In the cherry blossom's shade there's no such thing as a stranger.” this is the Purdy arms - The welcoming we got here was bar none with both friendly staff and the hosts Jules and Kat. It is set on acres of beautiful garden with a terrace for diners reminiscent of a small Italian piazza shaded in Bougainvillea, euphorbia, ferns and palms. Having visited a couple of times now on my travels, the place appears extremely family orientated. Whilst dining one can see kids enjoying themselves on bouncy castle at the bottom of the garden far enough away not to interfere with your dining experience. I've always thought the best bars are the ones with plenty of seating. If you step into the bar at the Purdy arms there are an abundance of furnished and comfortable looking bar stools and tables where you can enjoy your drinks, and follow whatever sporting events are being shown on the two projectors (In this case the Rugby). The Menu is a combination of good pub grub moving up to more sophisticated dishes with a pizza menu alongside. This pub/restaurant seems to have something for everyone. You can choose to eat quietly inside one of the dining rooms, in the bar or outside on the terrace.
My choice: feta and ginger samosas. a hells gate pizza (for chilli fanatics - not for the delicate palate), the salad bar, and a chocolate roulade to wash it all down. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realandfiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth visiting .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A fun and great place to spend time with friends thanks to Jules Grace and Kat they are always keen to Please , yesterday I joined the Sunday bike ride which is a Dusty Helmets opp out of Purdy Arms I went with Rob and a few others and had a fantastic ride, we returned to Purdy's in time for lunch (which was great) a cold beer and lots of fun talking about our mornings adventure.
Thanks again to all of you .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing