We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub in Karen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Barbecue, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Best Beef and Guinness pie in Kenya! Cold Tusker! Love the jukebox tracks! Will have to make it my local! Good job!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenya_Jace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Purdy Arms.

We will always make sure that we have plenty of cold Tusker for you.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
“Husband loves Chicken Kiev!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We go here at least once a week! Good service, fun atmosphere, and the best chicken wings in town! The fillet is really great w the salad and pepper sauce, tender and juicy! Nice dining room separate from pup area so two very different atmospheres to suit your mood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDTBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
So glad that you have become one of our regulars and really appreciate the kind review.

Look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great place with a great garden with outside seating and a great bar. Food is better than average pub grub and is very good value. Service is excellent. A very friendly and welcoming venue! Also has some rooms for B & B. I had a look at some of them and they are very nice and excellent value for the quality.
They also open for breakfast- haven't tried this yet but will give that a go soon!
Will definitely be back to try more of their menu and would recommend anyone to check out the B & B if they have a trip out to this side of Nairobi

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a kind review.

We certainly try to have a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and are so pleased that this is coming across.

We look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A worthy successor to Rusty Nail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When Rusty closed it's doors, it was a sad day, but now we have Purdy Arms in it's place. Similar laid back atmosphere, good menu, and a lovely patio to sit on. I have just one gripe though - we ordered a starter which never materialised, and when we asked about it, the staff looked at us as if we were asking for gold bars. Never mind - it didn't appear on the bill either! They did seem a little stretched that day, weekend lunchtime too...
Beautiful extensive gardens, which they could perhaps use a little better, but then it is early days....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place, beautiful surroundings, attentive staff and cold Tusker! The menu is good and the standard of food is high. Great for families, travelers and Karenites alike. Good job guys

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JnDNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back for more cold tuckers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purdy Arms also viewed

 

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing