We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view of Nairobi - much better with a guide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenyatta International Conference Center

Kenyatta International Conference Center
Book In Advance
$95.00*
and up
Nairobi Half-Day Guided Tour
Ranked #10 of 111 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view of Nairobi - much better with a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

In response to the reviewer (December) who didn't know there were lifts and had to walk up the stairs - there are lifts that go up to the floor below the roof! We were pounced on when still 100 yards from the front door by Peter. our guide, who took us in and escorted us to the roof. Without Peter it would have been unpleasantly pricey as all you would have was a great view of the city and beyond but no idea of what was what. Peter filled us in on lots of local information and spent a good half hour with us. The only downside was that, once the tour had finished he proceeded to give a hard-luck story of truly epic proportions along with subtle drop-ins of how much some good samaritans had given him (hint, hint) which sort of soured things a little as I was already going to tip him well as he had made the trip so worthwhile for us. It left me feeling a bit hustled - and he would have got more from me had he not said anything after the tour. My tip, as i think Peter is the main guide there - tip him before he launches into his sob story.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    138
    51
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We took a trip to the top of KICC our first day in Kenya to get a 360 degree view of Nairobi from on high. A tour guide, Peter, stations himself at the top of the building and in exchange for a modest tip (whatever we wanted to pay him) spent a good 15-20 minutes explaining what we were looking at. Like other attractions in Kenya, it is expensive, especially for non-African tourists, but a good way for a newcomer to get his/her bearings quickly

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MemberHartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“They wanted to charge us, even without a tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were visiting friends who wanted to take us up for a quick look at the city. There was no guide there and they still wanted us to pay what we would have paid if there was a guide. Just didn't seem worth it so we didn't go up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyboyCaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“360 degree view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Awesome views of Nairobi, absolutely breathtaking. If you love photos, nice place to snap a few. That is what I loved but hated every moment of climbing the stairs. Go there prepared to walk up the stairs all the way up. they need to consider lifts!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Conferencing Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a state of the art conferencing that left the whole meeting a great experience and the WIFI was great, the bottled water was warm. so next time please make sure that the water is chilled.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenyatta International Conference Center also viewed

 

Been to Kenyatta International Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing