We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Regular Nyama choma joint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Land

Max Land
Ranked #280 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Regular Nyama choma joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Awesome Nyama choma but quality of the rest has dipped. ordering regular food will not get you much satisfaction.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
161 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A true Kenyan nyama choma experience!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love nyama choma and always looking for a local non touristy spot in Nairobi to give it a go.
Went to Max Land the later part of March and it for sure fulfilled my expectations and tons of well cooked goat and also a side of roasted potatoes. The meat was excellent and could not finish it all. And the price point for so much good meat was super.
Setting not the greatest, but who cares as long as the food is good. Service was just fine, the only think I missed and this is true of many nyama choma places is the lack of pork choices as I love the addition of pork ribs.
If in Kenya and in Nairobi I would highly recommend Max Land as a place to try.

Jim from Minnesota

www.maplelag.com

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the best Nyama Choma joint around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

In Kenya barbecued goat meat is the national dish, so you can find it almost everywhere. There are, though, not many places that provide you the relaxed local atmosphere of the Choma kiosks with good clean environment and decent service. Max land is one of these. The menu is very traditional: barbecued chicken, goat, or beef with ugali, potatoes or tomatoes on the side. Don’t expect anything fancy, but all is well cooked and served.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Best nyama choma in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Most likely the best nyama choma in town. Sit with the locals, have a cold tusker or two, enjoy the expertly grilled goat served with ugali. Chicken and beef are great as well, but the goat is where its at. I love the chicken gizzards here.

There is also a car wash and salon in the same premises, which adds to its charm.

Definitely a hot local spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not enough choice and slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

They only had chicken and goat when we went. The chicken pieces were very small - although well cooked - and chips soggy. Good salad, but everything very slow indeed, and why did we have loud tv coverage of a political committee hearing on? Not a good ambience unless that's your obsession, and there wasn't much sign of that around us

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Land also viewed

 

Been to Max Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing