We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

““A place so ideal for long stay”” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GemSuites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GemSuites
State House Crescent | Off State House Avenue, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
““A place so ideal for long stay””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed at Gem Suites twice in two months for a total duration of 28 days. Quiet, secure and spacious environment with hospitable staff. I liked the health club facilities, very well, maintained. The breakfast was superb. The food and drinks at the restaurant are quite expensive though, but the location near the city is conducive to pick a meal from town or buy a few items to prepare own meal in the apartment.

Room Tip: Rooms Topaz (Upper side) are quieter from the music/noise from the Spa (Gym) and Bar/Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at GemSuites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Antoine,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and are glad you enjoyed both your stays with us at Gem Suites.
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hospitable staff, and our superb breakfast.
We look forward to hosting you again at Gem Suites on your next trip to Nairobi.
With kind regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caracas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My stay at Gem Suites was great as I was there for about 1 and a half months! The Breakfast was excellent, timely and with great variety to choose from.

Gem Suites had everything I needed; A big, fully furnished, spacious apartment that has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 1 guest washroom, kitchen, lounge and dining room that overlooked the big pool.

Was there with my little boys and they loved swimming in the morning and evening! As they enjoyed that, I could watch them as I was training at the well equipped gym.

The apartment is serviced daily and they have efficient and personalised laundry service and the security provided is of a high standard.

The evenings were my favourite as I got to enjoy my Hendricks at the Bar with great service and lounge music.

The barman makes killer Oriental Cocktails, make a point of asking for one!!!

All in all I had a very comfortable stay at Gem Suites and would Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the Room with the View of the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaramelaMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at GemSuites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Miguel,
Thank you for your great review on your long stay with us at Gem Suites.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, as well as our other facilities and services, and of course our signature Oriental Cocktail!
Thank you again and hoping you will give us the pleasure of hosting you once more at Gem Suites on your next trip to Nairobi.
With kind regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I rent a 2BR apartment for 4 nights.
First of all, the address is not easy to find but thanks to GoogleMap on the phone and far from any entertainment !
The apartment is not well maintained and the furnitures are quite average.
The breakfast is also very average for the price. Don't expect any buffet !
The service was ok even very good depending of the person you deal with.
Definitively too much expensive. I had the habit to book at the hotel in Nairobi, next time I will go back to Sarova Stanley, much more professional services and much much worthy for your money.

Room Tip: Don't book close to the gym because it will be noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at GemSuites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Gilles,

We are in receipt of your feedback on your stay with us at Gem Suites.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you felt the apartment given to you was not in a good state. We are currently working on this matter, and conducting a full refurbishment on all the apartments at Gem Suites.

Unfortunately we do not offer a breakfast buffet, however we do offer a full array of breakfast options à la carte. We are also more than happy to cater for any special requests our guests may have.

Although your stay with us may not have met your expectations, we do hope you will offer us the opportunity to host you again at Gem Suites on your next trip to Nairobi, in our newly refurbished apartments.

Thank you for giving us this feedback in order to help us keep improving as we work towards offering the best business accommodation solution in Nairobi.

With kind regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My trip to Nairobi was of 1 full month and the apartment was booked by my company. Although a bit expensive but the location of these apartments is excellent. Being very close to city centre (walking distance) its still quiet from the city's noise pollution. The room service is good and food in ORO Restaurant is really good. Overall my stay was very comfortable. Only problem I had was poor internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Akhil7j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at GemSuites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are glad you loved your stay at Gem Suites while in Nairobi and also the food at our in house restaurant & lounge – Oro. Noted the comments about the wifi and we promise that the next time you come the internet will also be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you again to your ‘home in Nairobi.’
With best regards
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice Location. Breakfast was average and could do with improvements on delivery and response to requests. The configuration of the 2 bedroom apartments was not xactly to my taste.
Also a key drawdown appears to be that you are charged extra if you have a guest in a single bedroom apartment.
If breakfast is complimentary, then it should remain so at least to a limit of 1 guest in a single bed apartment and 2 guests in a 2 bedroom apartment.

Room Tip: The single bedroom apartments have more space and a better kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Obiajulu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at GemSuites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and for your continued support.

We have noted the issue of the breakfast internally and are actually in the process of increasing the variety of food on offer in our in-house restaurant.
With regards to your concerns on the issue of complimentary breakfasts or not we wish to clarify that breakfast is only charged for an extra guest, where a booking is made as a single occupancy booking on bed and breakfast basis. The second person is then charged separately for the breakfast. We apologise if this was not clarified upon check in to you. On your next visit kindly inform us in advance to ensure that the booking is made correctly and to avoid any inconvenience to you. We at Gem Suites are committed to offering you the most pleasurable experience and look forward to you giving us the opportunity to make up for any disappointments you may have experienced on your last visit.

We look forward to hosting you once again and to make your stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Gem Suites is a self catering apartment complex in the heart of Nairobi. I arrived and was shown to the suite. It is enormous, even as a one bedroomed apartment. A fully functioning large kitchen, scullery, large lounge, dining room, bedroom, bathroom. The tv was situated in the lounge. This is a nice place to stay if you are staying a while and would like to prepare your own food. The tv channels are limited but the staff cannot do enough for you. I asked if they had a hair dryer in the rooms. They didn't. The same day they found a really nice one and it was in my room when I got back for the day. There is not much space around the suites to spend leisure time. The complex has security, but if you are nervous of security a hotel would be better. All in all an accommodating stay at the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joburgtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my first time at Gem Suites. The staff are welcoming and the 1 bedroom apartment is large with kitchen, laundry, large lounge and dinning room, guest toilet and bedroom with bathroom en suite. TV channels are limited but enough for a few days. These are apartments with fridge, microwave, cold water on tap etc. Here are the odd things - no tea, coffee, sugar etc and none for sale. The breakfast is also really odd - no buffet as a starter. Everything is hidden in a kitchen somewhere and has to be ordered. Mango was sour, no white sugar - as if they were encouraging you not to bother in order to save money. Room service good but my meal was reasonable at best.
Better food approach would make a difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reata Serviced Apartments
#35 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
The Heron Portico
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GemSuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GemSuites

Property: GemSuites
Address: State House Crescent | Off State House Avenue, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant development comprising 33 well-appointed apartments, GemSuites is located in the highly rated State House neighbourhood, close to the Central Business District and Nairobi's emerging commercial centres of Westlands and Upperhill. Offering guests more space and privacy than a hotel room at a lower cost while still providing all services expected at a 5 star hotel such as laundry, housekeeping and 24 hour reception. GemSuites is an ideal solution for all your business and personal travel accommodation requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your GemSuites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing