We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Long wait, wrong order average food ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Restaurant and Lounge

Oro Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #377 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Oro is also opening a new gastronomic season with a makeover menu - blending tradition and creativity for lunch and dinner, but also to enjoy breakfast or an aperitif with friends. A safe haven in the city for those for whom combining lifestyle with business is essential, Oro is equipped with Wi-Fi and private connection. Roof Top BBQ Lounge for those enjoying outdoor. Italian flavour and international undertones: Oro is a well groomed, elegant refuge from everyday life in the city, where you can savour a rich selection of unique dishes and drinks immersed in an atmosphere reminiscent of La Dolce Vita in its fine dining indoor restaurant. Nyamgumi Road, Off Dennis Pritt Rod at the Roof Top of Suite Life Serviced Apartments. Outdoor BBQ Lounge or Indoor Fine Dining, the choice is yours!
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long wait, wrong order average food ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Last night my wife and I decided to try Oro despite some of the very varying reviews. When we arrived in our small Nissan we were refused to enter as the 'parking was full'. However when we entered there were plenty of parking space... Was our car too basic?
The interior design of the lounge itself is pleasant even if somewhat stale and the music was a bit odd (noisy) for a lounge. We went to the bar and greeted the staff but were not advised where to sit. After a 15 min wait we had to look for a waiter to be given the menu. The food came after around 45 min. Unfortunately the waiter got the order wrong but after the long wait we decided to have what was served. The pork was definitely not bad, but the chicken was dry. In all fairness the restaurant offered free ice cream for messing up the order.
We wouldn't go back to eat, but not a bad place for a pre-party drink. Better training of the staff probably warranted.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the super efficient staff at Oro, the food is very tasty. The presentation of the food is attractive to the eye. And the ambience makes one just want to stay on and on. The menu is very creative and they must have an excellent chef executing it. I'm definitely going back and spreading the word!

Helpful?
Thank CAROLINE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been trying out quite a few restaurant here in Nairobi but I must say that ORO is by far one of the most efficient and (as title) OUTSTANDING! Service was impeccable, food is amazing and the waiters are very polite and efficient.
If I had to suggest, go for the stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon... Simply DELICIOUS!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jean Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jean Marie C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Oro.

It is always a pleasure receiving such positive comments from our guests, and we are delighted you had the chance to taste our Stuffed Chicken Wrapped in Bacon…always a favorite!

The Oro team is looking forward to hosting you again soon.

With kind regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, long wait for food, in the end did not get what we ordered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have been at Oro a couple of times before this when they were still relatively new and it was great. Not sure if the laziness bug has caught up with them or they were just having a bad day this time round. Decided to have lunch there on Sunday, 23rd Feb. There was only one other person in the restaurant and she wasn't eating so we figured it would be quick. We wanted a quick lunch, so we both ordered burgers and chips. Ordered at around 2.30pm, by 3.30pm food was still not served. After checking with the waitress they eventually bring out the food more than an hour later. And to our shock and disappointment, they didn't serve us the burger. They served some meat on four slices of cold white bread that tasted like it had been bought from the kiosk next door.
We asked the waitress what the issue was and why the burger was more like a sandwich I'd make at home and she said it's not her issue its an issue with the kitchen because apparently the pastry chef was not around therefore there were no buns available. What rubbish, she works for the restaurant and should have informed us what was available and not available. Not make assumptions on what we can accept as alternatives. Needless to say, I did not enjoy my lunch and refused to pay the full amount for whatever it was we were served. They have definitely lost two customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Nonoks,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Oro. We would sincerely like to apologize to you and your guest for the poor experience you had with us on Sunday.

As you had clearly mentioned, the restaurant only had one other guest at the time you placed your order; however, I would like to point out that we do also cater to our in-house guests who are able to order room service from us.

In terms of our waitress's response to you being served toast rather than burger buns, we do apologize as this is completely unacceptable, not only from the waitress, but as well from our kitchen. We take pride in making sure each and every customer is feeling satisfied and most importantly content with their experience at Oro, and unfortunately we let you down this time.

I can see from your review that you have eaten at Oro in the past, and we appreciate your positive feedback with regards to your previous experiences with us. We would very much like to earn your custom again and would be grateful if you would get in touch with us on 020.263.55.43 to give us the opportunity to show you that we are committed to giving our guests a truly wonderful experience each and every time they dine with us.

We would like to thank you for holding us to the very highest of standards, and would be appreciative if you allow us to turn this negative experience into a positive one for you and your guest.

With warm regards,

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How can I rate the food when we didn't get any?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 8:30pm.
1 hour and 40 minutes later we left having not eaten anything.
It's nairobi restaurant week.
This is embarrasing to say the least. Nobody apologised, or said anything at any point other than 'we've had a small problem,' which was about 50 minutes into our visit.
I'm assuming Oro is short for 'Orrible experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank devonteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina K, Manager at Oro Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Devonteacher,

We would sincerely like to apologize for the unacceptable experience you had at ORO. We are committed to ensuring that you have a great experience when dining with us, and unfortunately we let you down this time.

Your feedback is very much appreciated, and we have looked into the issues you have raised with our entire team. I wish to assure you that we have taken steps to ensure that this is never repeated.

I would also like to request that if you are in Nairobi (or next time you are around) you get in touch with us on 020-2635543 so that we can see how we can make it up to you. Apologies once again and we hope you will give us another chance to give you the ORO experience you came to expect from us.

With Warm Regards,
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oro Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing