We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Transit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oryx Hotel

Oryx Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #105 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Transit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for one night in transit.The hotel is located in a busy, crowded, run down area with dingy buildings. The area seems never to sleep at all, it is noisy throughout the night. Reception was "cool" to put it mildly. Had an ok dinner.
Mosquitoes made sleep impossible. Hotel offered mosquito net but couldn't use it because of the dust.
Bathroom was a tad below acceptable.
Fact that I had an early flight and had to physically try and hunt receptionist down foreclose to 30minutes to open the steel screen and exit door added onto my irritation.
Only advantage is it is cheap and not too far from airport. I would however try and get a better bargain elsewhere given an opportunity

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shingie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in transit - chose it because it was relatively cheap and not far from airport (about 1/2 hour). The hotel will send a car to the airport, but I found that an airport taxi was a better deal. Location is classic Nairobi jua-kali; lots of small street enterprises and grungy apartment blocks. Hotel looks recently built and feels secure. Staff very friendly and helpful. My room was clean, had all I needed and nothing I didn't, for 2 days of deskwork. Mosquitos were plentiful but there was a good net. Shower was one of those scary little electric gismos attached to the shower head but it worked OK. My room overlooked a busy intersection but I slept well.
The restaurant served good tasty food, nothing fancy, and the evening bar clientele seemed to be entirely respectable local middle-class Kenyans. No fitness center but plenty of stairs. Staff did my laundry very nicely and charged more than I expected. Not many shops nearby, but I walked just over a mile W along Jogoo Rd and found a bank and a supermarket. I felt quite safe walking, and there are plenty of taxis for the timid.
Bottom line: Good value, and I'd actually go back there if I was stuck in Nairobi again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usakos, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

.The place was average but i was okay with it because i was actually on business.Although they need to improve on the mosquitoes and the noise on the road.Otherwise i loved the pocket friendliness.One thing though they need to put an elevator.The staff is friendly especially a tall light brown lady at the front desk and George were quite awesome infact all the staff made my stay comfortable.

Room Tip: rooms athe furthest corner are quiet,i actually spent a night at 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnhart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Not far from airport. Normal choise to stay between plane and safari. But its so loud place!!!!!!! Staing on the road and difficult to sleep normaly. Take with you repelents because a lot of mosquitos

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatiana1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is simply terrible. No lift (was on the 4th floor), no power socket in the room, no WiFi - although they advertise there is - but the WiFi when we visited was an old fashioned modem to be shared between the guests. Obviously, that does not work very well without a power socket. Rooms are scruffy, bathrooms even more so. Beds were hard. No hot water as the in-room water heated did not work. Breakfast is horrible. Rats the size of chihuahuas were running around outside after dusk. Just do not stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.3 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#42 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
7.2 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#31 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#35 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
Nomad Palace Hotel Nairobi
#87 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Property: Oryx Hotel
Address: Jogoo Road, Hamza | P.O.Box 5687, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oryx Hotel, a spacious comfort and luxury hotel for romantic pairs or friends, families, business and leisure travelers authentic rooms, a restaurant and bar. Guests can relax in total privacy as they gaze through floor-to-ceiling windows at the panoramic view of the city of Nairobi and the JKIA airport. We have maintained legacy as a culinary destination, where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of a team of hand peaked professionals are paired with wine in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees as they dine in our restaurant and wine in our bar. We are located on Jogoo road, 5 Km from the City center and 15 Minutes drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport on a free flowing traffic. We are establish to bring to you affordable luxury. We offer our guests with extraordinary services that are created by combining unique architecture and structure, expressive decor and artistry. We simply exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing