We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hemingways Hotel - the only place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hemingways Hotel - the only place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Hemingways incredibly welcoming after a long haul flight from Toronto. Even though I was beyond exhausted upon arrival, I couldn't help but notice the food, decor and staff . The decor is scrumptious in a Safari theme, but not over the top. It had me coveting every item in my room to take home. Normally the first night in a hotel I don't sleep well, but the bed was so comfy, it wasn't a problem. Every morsel of food I had was delicious and that is an understatement, taking the time to cater to my finicky allergies and sensitivities without the bat of an eyelash. The grounds are breathtaking beautiful as is the location. A welcome respite from the pandemonium of Nairobi city. My only problem was that I only had one night there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    55
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
73
117
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Visited with a colleague for dinner. The steak was very good but the service was so so. However, I must commend them for the ambiance and the atmosphere.They just need to fine tune on F and B.

By the way the lemon cheese cake was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Quite simply magical stay.

Amazing accommodation, food and attentive staff...nothing to fault - perfect.

Near elephant orphanage too :)

Wonderful experience which I'd recommend to anyway visiting the city - quite and away from the madness :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear ColinPayne

Thanks for the great feedback from your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Living locally to this hotel we have not stayed but have eaten at the restaurant and used the spa on several occasions since it opened. The food has always been excellent, particularly the "Crab & Prawn" evenings. The atmosphere in the spa is welcoming, very relaxing and the treatments of a first class standard. We would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Jan781947

It is fantastic that we are getting support from the local community. The Prawn and Crab menu has indeed been a resounding success; we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Awesome place and a great retreat and getaway for the weary traveller or hard working Nairobi people. It is one of those places you relax into as arrive at the lovely setting and gardens. The staff are attentive and professional and the food is superb, especially the squid and pomegranate. The spa is the best in Nairobi. Booking essential even in the off season !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyatt_jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear wyatt_jeremy

I am delighted you enjoy all Hemingways Nairobi has to offer and we are grateful for the support. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Hemingway, Nairobi was in an absolutely beautiful setting. Newly built with a excellent staff and food as well. It is well located in one of the more prestigious areas of Nairobi. It was extremely well appointed with a beautiful pool and lobby. This is a great place to begin your African journey.

Room Tip: Any room, as they have a limited number, would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This place is the worst. The management (especially in the spa) is terribly rude. The food is terrible, especially for the price. The atmosphere is stuffy and has a strange chlorine smell. I would recommend Talisman nearby for great food, the Sankara spa, and the Karen Blixen coffee cottages to stay. DO not got here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nairobiguide1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing